Correct me if I’m wrong, but…

I saw this sticker on a car while out and about today:

save_a_life_spay_neuter_stickerFirst of all, I’d like to point out that I’m all in favor of spaying and neutering your pets to prevent unwanted pet progeny. The bottom line on this sticker is a great message; however (and I admit I’m nit picking here), I’m having a little difficulty with the accuracy of the first three words at the top. Whose life are we saving by spaying or neutering our pets? Theirs? Ours? No. I believe the idea is that the act of spaying or neutering will prevent innocent, unwanted kitties and puppies from being killed — whether in shelters or the harsh life of the streets. How are we preventing this murder? By preventing the kitties and puppies from ever being born. Shouldn’t we be saying, “Prevent a Life So We Don’t Have to Kill It”?

My apologies if you are an animal lover/animal rights activist/anyone who is offended by talk of killing puppies/kitties. I’m just bugged by weird things like inaccurate bumper sticker statements.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

Leave a Reply

