Back home

For some reason I have this line going through the middle of my screen (horizontally). Sometimes it’s white, and sometimes it’s black. I guess it depends on the color of the background. Weird. I wonder if it’s permanent. The screen was off the whole time we were gone, though. Huh.

BratzBasher and I are back from sunny CA. We had a good visit, but I’m glad to be home. I do not miss cleaning the cats’ litter box at all. My oldest sister has the next two-week shift with Grandma. I got to spend a couple of days with her before we left. She is a great cook and loves to play games. Grandma was excited for her to visit because she actually knows how to do Grandma’s hair for church.

We flew into STL after midnight and were starving, so Merkin took us to Waffle House. I had a triple dose of hashbrowns with gravy. Apparently there has been some rain here while we were gone (understatement of the year). Actually, Merkin said they didn’t have a single day when it didn’t rain. Maybe Missouri missed me? Nah. It’s just that season.

I came home to a long letter from a dear friend and a present from the woman I helped with the Beauty and the Beast costumes. She gave me a program from the play (which has my name in it — how ’bout that?) and a hand-stitched plaque that reads, “Live your best life”. It’s pretty cool.

I didn’t sleep at all on the flights home, so I actually slept in till after 1:00 this afternoon. I’m fully rested now, though. I made sure to unpack and shower before falling into bed last night, so I’m feeling refreshed and don’t have a full suitcase staring at me.

BB told me the only thing she didn’t like about her stay in CA is the bathroom attached to her room. It had the only toilet with a built-in bidet, which was activated by a lever on the right-hand side of the seat. She said she kept accidentally hitting it whenever she shifted position on the seat. She found it rather aggravating. She did not appreciate my laughter in the slightest, but I know she would have been laughing if it had happened to me instead.

There’s really not all that much to say. It’s Thursday, so we’ll probably go to the library at some point. We also missed our movie day due to travel and preparations for travel, so we’ll probably squeeze in a movie, too. We borrowed my dad’s copy of Das Boot, and BB’s looking forward to watching it in German with English subtitles. Have I mentioned she takes German classes at her high school?

I should get off my lazy butt and go do something productive now — and by that I mean chores. *shudder*

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

Leave a Reply

