Finished Costumes

I’m finally finished with my share of the costumes for Beauty and the Beast. Here are some pics:

Shirt and Bodice

100_0251The white shirt is just a tee that I found at Goodwill for 34¢.  I put elastic in the sleeve hems, cut a new neckline, and added elastic to that, too. The bodice is a basic, ribbed tank top ($1.50 at Goodwill).  I used 1/8 inch ribbon to sew fake laces on the front, and I shortened the length to just 8 inches or so from the neckline (using a zig-zag stitch).

The Enchantress’ Dress

100_0252I found a dark green dress at Goodwill for just $2.00 and cut a slit up the front.  Then I found a bright, neon green, sheer fabric with glittery swirls on it to make an underskirt and lengthen the sleeves.  I also added a sash.  Of course, with the underskirt being so sheer, I also made a slip to go underneath (cotton and netting).

Here’s a close-up of the glittery swirls:

100_0253You can see them better if you click on the image to enlarge it.  I think it’ll look great under the lights.

I learned quite a bit working on these costumes, and tried some new-to-me techniques.  I think the hardest part of the whole thing was cranking out multiple shirts and bodices.  It got a bit tedious.  Now I’m on the theater’s radar as a potential future volunteer.  I hear next year’s play has pirates in it.  Anybody have any good, cheap pirate costume ideas?

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

Leave a Reply

