More crafts for the old and the new year

I’m back!  And I’ve brought photos! Of crafts, of course.  What else would I have been doing all this time?

BratzBasher received this Monty Python and the Holy Grail jacket for Christmas:

100_0246

Here’s a close-up of the back — the applique is the front of a favorite t-shirt she’s long outgrown.

(Have I ever mentioned that BB has been quoting this movie since she was four?)

I added this patch to the front pocket.

100_0247

It’s the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch!  Perfect for vanquishing killer rabbits.  If you want one for yourself, you can find it at Pop Culture Patches, an Etsy shop.  They have loads of cool stuff.

The patch was the most expensive part of this project — though not really all that pricey.  I got the jacket at Goodwill for just $4.00.  Score!

Here are a couple of cross-stitch projects I recently finished:

100_0244 100_0245I found the koi fish when I searched for free patterns on the internet.  I had to work it out a bit for myself from the photo, though, as the original website is now defunct.

The crafter’s tribute to Picard is a patchwork of various free patterns I found on the web, too.  Unfortunately, I got the width measurements wrong.  It doesn’t quite work in my 5×7 frame.  D’oh.

Have I mentioned that I made a dragon scarf?  I’m afraid I’d never be able to write up a pattern for it.  I kind of made it up as I went along.  Here’s a photo:

100_0243I should’ve taken a close-up of the head.  The nostrils are 3-dimensional, and there are ears.  I rather like the flames coming out of the nostrils, too.

I’ve joined a felt club at the library.  We’ll be doing an advent calendar throughout the year — plus, we’re working on felt quiet books.  BB’s way too old for a quiet book, but I’ll likely find a good home for it when I’m done.  We’re coming up with a “plan of attack” for the book at our first meeting next month.  I’ve been looking at ideas on the web, and there are tons.  Seriously.  Tons.  It’s a little overwhelming, but I think the key is to keep it simple and to focus on one age range (baby, toddler, etc.).  I’ll post pages as I finish them.

In the meantime…I’m going to catch up on my email and maybe throw a load of laundry into the wash.  I’m nearly out of socks.  Mainly because BB keeps stealing them.  Wash your own, kid!

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

One response to “More crafts for the old and the new year

Leave a Reply

