surviving

BratzBasher has survived the first…hang on, it’s hard to type while counting on my fingers…seven days of school with minimal drama.  Unlike in middle school (when it was every other day), she has P.E. four days a week, but it’s only for one year.  Then she’s done.  Can you believe it?  In my day, we had to take at least two years of P.E. — some schools even required three or four.  One year?  She’s getting off easy, if you ask me.  Of course, she’ll have marching band for four years, so that pretty much guarantees an extra four semesters of exercise.  I guess she doesn’t have it so easy after all, but she is surviving marching band as well.

Speaking of exercise, I have resolved to go to the gym every day that BB does.  We get Wednesdays off — woohoo!  I’ll admit that it’s been a struggle.  I have to be “gym-ready” when I take BB to school so that I can just head for the gym instead of going home, but my mind keeps telling me to play hooky.  You don’t actually need to go inside in order to say you’ve been to the gym.  Just drive up and then drive away.  Or let’s not turn right at this light.  Let’s go straight instead.  Straight home.  I’m surviving.  Barely.  (just kidding — mostly)

The other thing BB survived was her required summer reading.  From a list of five books, she chose The Joy Luck Club and The Red Badge of Courage.  I recommended JLC because I remembered it being really good, and RBofC because I remembered it being really short.  She liked the first, but trudged her way through the second.  She said the first day of English class revealed that nobody who read RBofC liked it, so the teacher is removing it from the list.  In my day, teachers didn’t care whether we enjoyed a book.  We had to read it anyway.  And we liked it. (Do I sound like Dana Carvey’s grumpy old man yet?)

Merkin has a triathlon coming up.  The swimming portion is in a lake.  That’s always more difficult than in a swimming pool, but he feels more confident after having completed the Olympic-length Spudman.  What?  I didn’t tell y’all about that?  Well, he did it, and he was awesome.  Plus, he took advantage of the open swim they held for people who wanted to practice for this weekend’s triathlon, and that went well.

Gee, we’re all a bunch of exercising fools.  Woo-hoo.  If you’ll excuse me, I’m going to the library now.  I’ve earned it.

 

 

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

One response to “surviving

  • Lorrie

    I love reading your blog. Sorry I’ve been hard to communicate with but I got sick. After a short (long) stop at St. Luke’s I have great hopes of being normal. My children will challenge that thought.

Leave a Reply

