St Louis Storytelling Festival 2013

There really isn’t a whole lot in my life to blog about these days.  Maybe I should be paying more attention to the clever things BratzBasher says.  Is she saying anything clever these days?  I’m not sure I’d catch it if she did.  She mostly talks about fanfiction these days, and I only listen to that with half an ear.  I’m rather bored by it, but I do need to keep abreast of what she’s reading.

We did attend several events for the St Louis Storytelling Festival this past week.  The storytellers were very good, and I picked up two cd’s by Megan Hicks.  She tells some very good fractured fairy tales — a lot of them feature groundhogs, for some reason.  I think my favorite stories were “Billy Beg”, as told by Milbre Burch; one Michael Parent did about a young boy who idolized the garbage man; and Megan Hicks’ “Davey and the Devil”.

BratzBasher told at the children’s concert again this year (fourth time).  She did a story about a man who goes off to seek his fortune and returns to find another man has assumed his identity and commandeered his life.  There were other good stories at the children’s concert.  One of the return tellers was a girl who recites children’s books word for word.  She’s really talented — excellent voice, gestures, and facial expressions.  All of the tellers get an official t-shirt (the same kind the adult tellers wear) and their pick from a collection of donated books.  BB chose a book on urban legends called The Mexican Pet.  She’s really enjoying it.

 

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

Leave a Reply

