Appaholics Anonymous

In this day and age, with all the smart phones and tablets and whatnot…who isn’t addicted to at least one app?  I use my tablet for basically two things: reading (my scriptures and ebooks are on there) and playing a game where you buy/sell/breed fish (but mostly I just collect them to look pretty in my tanks).

I never thought I would like this game.  It’s not even a game, really.  I thought I would be super-bored with it, but I downloaded it in order to get something else for free and figured that BratzBasher might like it.  I gave BB the first tank.  I have seven.  Yep, I’m addicted.  I check on my fish at least once a day — more than that if there’s a special event (bonus game) going on that requires more monitoring.

On the bright side, I can’t play it if there’s no wi-fi available.  I have to be online to access my tanks, so I never have to worry about getting the urge to check on those fish while I’m supposed to be paying attention in church.

Sure, I could delete it from my tablet, but not all of the tanks are mine.  Besides, I spent months collecting enough fish bucks to buy a leopard frog for BB.  There’s the option to purchase bucks, but I refuse to pay real money for something I’ll eventually get for free.

My resolution for the new year — okay, for February: only once a day.  Even if there’s an “event” going on.  Even if the prizes in the event are really cool, they’re still virtual prizes and not real.  Put down the tablet and go spend time with your family.

So what app are you addicted to?  Come on, ‘fess up.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

3 responses to “Appaholics Anonymous

  • bythelbs

    My favorite apps are Words with Friends and SongPop. I know, so boring! I’m loving my electronic reader app–instantly library at my fingertips without leaving the house! I use the gospel library app a lot to prep my lessons–it’s super convenient to have all the links to scriptures, conf talks and videos.

    I need to find an exciting fish tank app.

  • madhousewife

    The only apps I really use anymore are SongPop on Facebook and Spider Solitaire for my iPod. I used to play MyWord on Facebook a lot, but I got over my addiction. Mostly because it stopped recording my scores. I mean, why play if you can’t have a record of your achievements? Actually, I’m kind of hoping that I just genuinely lost interest. I would feel better about myself.

    My iPod is actually loaded with apps, but they’re all for the kids. I think my youngest downloads a free version of some virtual pet or puppy game every time she gets her hands on my iPod. (Well, granted, she doesn’t download it by herself–she needs me to type in the password–but how am I supposed to say no when it’s free and the puppies are so cute?)

Leave a Reply

