Time Out for Blogging

I thought I’d take a little break from my most recent sewing project to check in.  I’m working on a pioneer dress for this year’s Youth Conference pioneer trek.  No, I’m not going.  (Are you kidding me?)  It’s for someone else.  I’ve actually finished the dress.  I just need to make the apron.  I’m going off-pattern for that, so wish me luck.  I think the hardest part is over, though.  Those darn buttonholes are tricky, but I managed to make three decent ones.  Not that there were any indecent ones.  The pattern called for just three.  Of course, if the buttonholes aren’t decent, then I suppose it’s the wearer of the garment who’ll be indecent.  Nothing to worry about with this dress, though.

Anyway…I’ve been trying to get BratzBasher interested in doing activities during the summer days so that we aren’t just sitting around bored out of our gourds.  Where do you suppose that saying came from?  Do you think that Peter Pumpkin-Eater’s wife made it up?  It must have been rather boring sitting in that pumpkin shell.

Where was I?  Oh, summer activities.  So far, I’ve gotten her to agree to having a movie day and a library day.  Our movie days are either at the dollar theater or home, but the home ones require popcorn.  We watched Millennium Actress today.  Mad Housewife gave it to us last summer, but we only just now got around to watching it.  It’s really good, but difficult to explain.  BB and I both enjoyed it.  We’ll have to watch it again with Merkin.

We’ve only had one library day so far, but I’m signed up for the adult summer reading program, so there will be plenty more.  I have to get in twenty hours of reading.  Twenty hours is nothing.  The hard part is keeping track of those hours.  So far, I’m at nine.  I’ll offer up some book reviews at the end.  I’ll give you some recs and tell you if I’ve found anything not worth your time.

Well, I’d better get back to work.  I have to finish the apron today because the rest of my week is booked.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

One response to “Time Out for Blogging

Leave a Reply

