Back in the (figurative) saddle

BratzBasher and I returned from CA yesterday.  We spent two weeks with Great-Grandma (Is that hyphenated?  Oh well.) while Grandma and Grandpa were in Vancouver.  It was quite the vacation.  Ours, I mean.  I don’t presume to rate the grandparents’ trip.

We began and ended every day with Great-Grandma — from 8 am walks to 8 pm board games.  GG sure plays a mean Tri-ominos.  We played by the rules, and she creamed us twice.  BratzBasher got even when we broke out TransAmerica.  She sent GG and me off the track without even moving one space.

By far, the most exciting thing to happen to me was when I was refilling GG’s hummingbird feeders.  She has two, and the hummingbirds are very impatient.  They’ll buzz you while you’re pouring in the sugar water.  One day I was filling up the first feeder, and there was one of the cute, little beasts perched on the second feeder.  When I finished with the first feeder, I turned to the bird and said, “You need to move now so that I can fill that up.”  It didn’t move.  So I brought my finger up to lightly brush it under the tail.  I figured it would move before I ever touched it.  I was wrong.  It stayed put.  Then I couldn’t resist stroking its back.  Well, it moved then, but not before I found out that hummingbird feathers are silky soft.  Yeah, it was pretty awesome.

So BB and I had a great time with GG, going for walks (making sure that her path was not blocked by sweet gum balls or snails), shopping for chocolate chip cookies at the Dollar Tree (She keeps them in the fridge so they don’t go bad.), doing her hair (I managed not to make her look like the bride of Frankenstein.), playing games (all sorts), and watching “Dancing with the Stars” and “The Price is Right”.  Oh, and I forgot to mention that we celebrated her 89th birthday!

GG: I’m going to be 89.  Can you believe that?

Foo4: I want to be 89 someday.

GG: You do? (laughs)

She got two cakes: one from her Visiting Teacher and one from BB and me.  About halfway through both cakes, I asked her if she was getting tired of the stuff, and she said, “No, they’re good!”  She did offer us some from time to time, but I’d say she ate the lion’s share of them herself.  That’s as it should be.

We also got to meet up with a couple of my friends from high school.  One of them took us to the Huntington.  We walked through a good portion of the gardens and had tea (the meal, that is — BB and I ordered lemonade for our drinks) at the Rose Garden Tea Room.  It was very nice.

I’ve got some sewing projects lined up for the next couple of months.  First up: a pioneer costume for this year’s Youth Conference pioneer trek.  A mother in the ward has commissioned the dress for her daughter.  Then I’ve got jammies for the son of one of my CA friends.  Then I teach some sewing lessons to another girl in the ward.  I’m looking forward to that.  I also promised matching dresses for a brand new big sister and her baby sister (friends of ours).  I’m making them t-shirt dresses — adding a skirt to a t-shirt.  Super easy, but the highlight will be taking the big sister on a trip to the fabric store to pick out the skirt material.

It’s a good thing my new meds are working.  I’m back in love with sewing again.  Maybe I’ll actually get around to making that dress I bought that material for a couple of months ago.  I actually saw someone in my dad’s ward wearing a different dress made out of that same material.  I told her she did an awesome job.  She didn’t know whether to be flattered or miffed that people recognized that it was homemade.  I told her that I never would have guessed if I hadn’t purchased that exact material myself.  It really was a very well-made dress.  She looked wonderful.  I hope mine looks at least half as good.

Okay, it’s almost tomorrow.  I’m going to bed.  Lots to do, and I need my sleep.

But first, an educational snippet — courtesy of BratzBasher:

BB: Did you know that sharks have electric snot?

Foo4: No, I did not.

Merkin: That would make a great band name.  Electric Snot.

BB: What kind of music would they sing?

Foo4: Who cares?  With a name that cool, people will listen anyway.

Actually, I think I want a t-shirt that says “Electric Snot” on it.  It would have to have a list of beaches on the back — like cities where the concert played, but actually just places where sharks have been sighted.  Yeah.

 

 

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

3 responses to “Back in the (figurative) saddle

  • bythelbs

    I’m so glad you got to help Grandma celebrate her 89th bday. Sounds like a good trip!

    Have fun with all of the sewing!

  • madhousewife

    I can totally see/hear that conversation with Grandma. She’s so funny.

    Let me know when you’re so in love with sewing that you’d like to make a very complicated dress for your niece. (RDR2) <–(gratuitous Simpsons reference) Speaking of sewing, I wore the skirt yesterday. It was a hit with the girls in my Primary class. I felt very pretty.

    Extra points if you make that Electric Snot t-shirt and then sew a skirt to it.

    • foo4luv

      I would love to make a very complicated dress for my niece, but it would require us to be in the same location. At least I wouldn’t have to bring my sewing machine to your place, eh? I’ll keep an eye on air fares to your area.

Leave a Reply

