Automated Phone Mazes

You know, the ones where you call up your insurance company and have to push all of these buttons before you can speak to an actual person?  I tried that today when I called for prior authorization to see my new psychiatrist, and I got stuck around the “enter your birth date” question.  Don’t get me wrong.  I know when I was born.  I know how to enter my birth date on a telephone key pad.  I did not, however, immediately know the answer to the next question.  That caused the maze to send me right back to the birth date thing, but when I tried to re-enter my birthday, it started to talk over me.  Did I mention the maze narrator is a shouter?

PLEASE ENTER YOUR BIRTH DATE AS AN EIGHT-DIGIT NUMBER FOLLOWED BY THE POUND SIGN NOW!!!

No, wait.  That should read like this:

PLEASE! ENTER! YOUR! BIRTH! DATE! AS! AN! EIGHT! DIGIT! NUMBER! FOLLOWED! BY! THE! POUND! SIGN! NOW!

Merkin says he’ll help me try again tonight.  Sigh.  I don’t want to have to go through this again with the therapist.  I don’t even have a therapist lined up yet.  This really bites.  You’d think that sane people would be bending over backwards to make sure that we crazies don’t wind up driving through their office windows.

 

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

2 responses to “Automated Phone Mazes

  • madhousewife

    Automated phone mazes are the worst! Except what I hate worse than the push-button automated phone mazes are the “voice-recognition” phone mazes where they tell you to say your name or your birthdate or what you want or whatever but of course they can’t really tell what you’re saying because they’re just a machine. Those are the worst.

    Good luck with the pre-authorization.

  • Lorrie Munson

    I think the only thing worse is when you get through to a human and they are in India. They don’t really speak English but they know how to answer any question on their sheet. “Hello, my name is Carl.” After phone tag with the computer and then getting to talk to “Carl” for another hour I’m ready to be on my own couch.

Leave a Reply

