Happy Commercially-Promoted Love Day!

For the record, I object to Valentine’s Day and all the expensive/tacky frippery that goes along with it, the cheesy commercials, sickeningly pink displays, etc.  However, I do not object to my husband making me a nice dinner, and I did send valentines to my Grandma and the Purple Lady.

BratzBasher has been looking forward to today for very different reasons than one might expect for a girl of thirteen.  It is also “dress for respect” day at her school, and she is decked out in her very toughest outfit to instill the proper fear and respect:

  • her plaid skirt
  • her “Buffy staked Edward” shirt
  • her kick-butt “boots of awesomeness”
  • her camouflage pyramid-studded belt
  • her daddy’s old leather jacket (which he gave to her upon her entrance into middle school)

As a concession to Valentine’s Day, she is also wearing her red and black striped knee-high socks.  Not exactly the most fashionable of attire, but BB’s never been about worldly fashion.  She marches to the beat of her own drummer, and we love her for it.  Plus, she was so excited about her outfit that she got up earlier than usual and was ready for school in plenty of time for me to braid her hair (always with one tendril dangling on the right side) and stick in her anime “angry” clip.  Let me see if I can find a picture of one…here we go:

I think it's supposed to be a cartoonish representation of pulsing veins.

Anyway…them’s the goings on here at our house.

How are you spending your Valentine’s Day?

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

2 responses to “Happy Commercially-Promoted Love Day!

  • Lorrie

    Today is my granddaughter’s birthday. For the past 8 years all Valentine’s celebrations have been centered around this little delight. We gave her her cowboy boots last night during grandma and Aubrey night. This evening we are doing what every grandparent fears – a night at Red Robin. Now were did I put those earplugs?

  • foo4luv

    Birthdays are a much better reason to celebrate today. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

