Another Ornament

I decided to put off cleaning today (well, every day, actually — but we’ll ignore that fact for the sake of this sentence) and do a little craft instead.  I learned how to make a folded star ornament at my craft group earlier this month, and I wound up giving it away at the annual Relief Society ornament exchange.  It was a big hit.  About half a dozen women came up to me afterward and asked how to make one.  I bought some supplies to make more.  I already had this fabric lying around.  No, that’s not true.  It was stored in a very neat, organized manner — totally unlike me, I know.  Anyway…all I needed were the pins and styrofoam balls.  You can visit the above link for the instructions.  Here’s the one I made today:

The green material is left over from a superhero cape I made for BB when she was four.  Normally, each row would be a single color, but I like it this way, too.  Hard to believe it’s held together with pins, huh?  If you use five pins per fabric square (which I didn’t always do), it takes 200, plus however many you use to secure the ribbon and bow.  All it needs is one of those ornament hook thingies.  And, no, it doesn’t come apart unless you’re trying to disassemble it.

I did eventually do some cleaning, but I didn’t go crazy with it.  I still need to vacuum the front room.  And sweep and mop the dining room floor, grind the powder for poison chowder, and not forget to go to the well.  My mom used to add that on the end of her chore lists.  “…and grind the powder for poison chowder, and don’t forget to go to the well!”  A little Sorcerer’s Apprentice for y’all.

 

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

One response to “Another Ornament

  • Lorrie

    Okay. That looks fun to make. Not that I don’t already have too many projects that I’m working on. I have always wanted more than one Christmas Tree. Each one with a theme. Now you have me thinking I could begin in January making quilted looking ornaments for next years. Maybe not – but its a fun thought.

Leave a Reply

