Hello? I’m still here. Are you?

One good thing about losing my last job is that I can still devote time to keeping up my blog.  Unfortunately, I went and told people that I’d be working for the next ten weeks (in anticipation of actually working for the next ten weeks), and now I’m afraid you’ll think there’s no reason to check for new posts because I’ll be too busy.

Well, I’m not too busy, but I do hope to be busier before too long.  I’m applying for another job.  I hesitate to say what because I don’t want to jinx it, but I’ll tell you anyway.  Why mention it if I’m not going to tell you more, right?  The library is looking for a new paraprofessional for their children’s programs.  Said para is also expected to work the reference desk.  I want this job.  I would want this job if it paid nothing.  It pays a lot more than nothing, but I’m just saying that’s not why I’m applying.  I have a librarian friend (the para in charge of that craft group I joined) who clued me in, and she said I’m qualified enough.  She also said they’ve only had two other applicants so far.

So now I’m slaving away at the computer, trying to write a decent cover letter (I’m told they’re big on cover letters — I have inside information from my librarian friend.) and revamping my resume to showcase the vast experience I have working with children in a creative, educational environment.  Yep.  I’m bringing out my Primary credentials.  I added everything up and, including my years as a room mother and the year I taught Joy School with a bunch of other moms, I’ve got thirteen years’ experience to offer.  Hey!  That’s how old BratzBasher is!  What a coincidence.  I’m not playing up my motherhood experience, though.  I want to show that I can handle other people’s children.  Plus, I only have the one.  Libraries don’t do one-on-one children’s programs.

I also need to compile a portfolio of projects that I’ve done (can do).  Merkin suggested that I borrow some of our friends’ kids so that I can take pictures of them enjoying the fun crafts and activities I’ve designed.  I should at least have pictures/samples of the crafts in question.  I’m working on at least three.  I don’t know how much time I’ll have between the application deadline (this Sunday) and the interview.  My first focus is, of course, getting my cover letter and resume polished up enough to get me that interview.  There’s no point in counting my chickens before they’re hatched.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

4 responses to “Hello? I’m still here. Are you?

  • bythelbs

    GOOD LUCK!!! (That was not meant to be sarcastic in any way. I hope my clarifying doesn’t make you question my sincerity.) I think you would be great at this job, and I think you deserve something that you would actually enjoy!

    • foo4luv

      Thank you. I’m already meeting a bunch of obstacles. For one thing, I need my start and end wages for my days of working at the library two years ago, and the offices are closed for Veteran’s Day and the weekend. The deadline is Sunday, and I can’t fudge on the forms. I’ll have to leave it blank. If I still get an interview, I can update that information. I’ve already put in my request for it. With the same woman who would be interviewing me. Awkward.

  • Lorrie

    Welcome back. I hope (and will pray) you get this job. There is nothing better than having a job you love.

  • Christy Flood

    Oh I hope I hope I hope you get this job, you would be so great at it. Add my name to the list of people who are praying for you to get a job you can love (like this one).

Leave a Reply

