Nevermind.

So after spending…nine hours (minus 30 minutes for lunch) working hard, I came home to a voicemail message from the temp agency telling me I didn’t need to go back.  I’m pretty sure it wasn’t anything I did wrong.  I got the impression that they didn’t really know what to do with me.  Every time I finished a task, they had to stop and think, “What can we have her do now?”  I couldn’t really imagine ten weeks of that.  Plus, I got to sit for a total of maybe 40 minutes, including lunch.  That’s a long time to be standing.

I learned quite a bit, though, and I got to use some fun machines.  I don’t think my writing skills are up to describing them, and I don’t know the proper names.  My favorite was the machine that crumpled up the packing paper.  All I had to do was step on a pedal, and the paper would come shooting out in a big, long, crumpled strip.  It was fun.  And I stickered more than 340 reels of labels (putting a label on the labels).  That’s what the company makes: labels, UPC stickers, etc.

Well, I’m awaiting a call from the temp agency to go over how yesterday went.  Maybe they’ll have more information for me on what went wrong — or what I did wrong, as the case may be.  I don’t think the job was a good fit for me.  I’m pretty sure they won’t try putting me in that type of position again.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

2 responses to “Nevermind.

  • bythelbs

    I’m sure you’re right–they just realized they didn’t “need” you. I wonder what that means for the person you’re filling in for…

    • foo4luv

      I’m sure they need that person. They just don’t need someone they have to totally train to do everything that person does. I noticed that, other than the big machine operators, everyone there did just about everything — following a project from start to finish. I couldn’t do that because I didn’t know the system. I had to wait for projects to get to the point where I could help. I think it threw them off a bit.

Leave a Reply

