Either someone is out to get me, or my car is just falling apart.

Yesterday, I got in the car to pick up BratzBasher from school.  When I stepped on the brake to put the car in reverse, there was almost no pressure.  I decided my brakes were probably faulty, and it wasn’t safe to drive my vehicle.  I walked to the school to get BB.  Luckily, we don’t live too far away, and the weather was beautiful.  I would’ve chosen to walk in the first place if I’d gotten started early enough.  As it was, I was late.  BB didn’t mind.  She was just glad I’d shown up.

When we got back home, BB pointed out that I had fluid leaking out the back of my car.  Yep.  Brake fluid.  Merkin was all set to drive it to our mechanic, but I wasn’t too happy about that idea.  No brakes, remember?  Finally, he said he’d call the mechanic and get his opinion.  I said, “Okay.  If he says it’s safe to drive, it’s fine.”  The mechanic said, “As long as you have some stopping power, it’ll make it here just fine.”  So Merkin threw his bike in the back of the car and drove to the repair shop.  Then he biked home — after calling to assure me he had arrived safely.

My car should be ready by the end of the day, but it’s not guaranteed.  Meanwhile, I got a call from the temp agency wanting to know if I’m available for a job tomorrow.  Um…not sure.  I told the agent about my car.  She said to call her when I knew for sure it would be ready.  If the job has already been filled, she’ll find something else for me.  Sigh.  So far, I don’t know.  I’m thinking the job ain’t gonna happen for me this time.  I’ll catch the next one.

 

UPDATE:  The brake line was rusted.  It’s fixed now.  Yay!  I let the temp agency know I’m mobile again, but I did lose out on tomorrow’s job.  That’s okay.  There will be others.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

Leave a Reply

