I made a phone call today.

For those of you who know me, that’s a big deal.  What makes it an even bigger deal is that I was calling a complete stranger about a job.  *GASP!*  After being rerouted a couple of times, I now have an interview with a temp agency that specializes in data entry/office clerk positions.  Let’s see how I do at this interview.  If they test me on my typing speed/accuracy, I’m not sure how I’ll do.  I’ve been sort of brushing up on the skills, but I do better with stuff that makes sense to me.

The program I’m using to practice has had a few typos that have thrown me off my game.  I hate leaving that stuff alone and just copying what it says when it is so clearly WRONG!  At least I’ve gotten to where I can type just one space between sentences when needed.  Two spaces are automatic for me because that’s how I learned.  Not to mention, it’s easier to read.  But I can copy something that only has one space after each period.

Wait.  Why am I just sitting here typing about how difficult this is when I should be eating my piece of reward chocolate.  One Hershey’s Special Dark kiss coming up.  I would also like to point out that I am not raiding the junk food stash in this house — though I must admit that I’m confused about why we have a junk food stash if we’re all trying to lose weight and stay healthy.  I’m not the one doing the grocery shopping here.  Okay, okay.  I’ll just go eat my chocolate.  Then I need to find something to do with my time until BratzBasher gets out of school.

Wish me luck at my interview tomorrow!

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

2 responses to “I made a phone call today.

  • Lorrie

    You don’t need luck. You need a friend to go with you and tell them how awesome you are! Good luck anyway.

    • foo4luv

      Thanks. The only thing I’m worried about is the typing test. I know there will be one because the recruiter said they’d have a computer reserved for my use. I’m worried I won’t test as well as my resume says. The resume is accurate, according to my Mavis Beacon program, but I don’t always do well with typing tests. I tend to reflexively hit the delete key when I make a mistake, and most don’t allow you to do that — it registers as another mistake.

Leave a Reply

