Just a reminder and a QotD

The deadline for the Again! Again! Again! contest is 12:00 pm, October 1.  Click on the link, and tell us what your go-to book is and why it’s special to you.

After re-reading the original post, I realized that I never told you what my go-to book is.  As I’m not officially entering this contest, I don’t have to limit my answer to one – ha!  I have different go-to books, depending on what mood I’m in.

If I want something that completely pulls me in, I read Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.  There’s one particular passage in that book when Ender and his team are psyched up to fight their first battle.  As they’re running to the game room, Ender occasionally jumps up to touch a spot on the low ceiling of the hallway, and each team member jumps up to touch that same spot.  The first time I read it, I wanted to jump, too.  There are other books that draw me in, but none of them has ever made me jump the way that book does.

If I need cheering up, I read a children’s book — usually one with very few words but pictures that make me smile.  Mercer Mayer’s books, such as Hiccup or A Boy, A Dog, and a Frog, are good for this.  I also like David Wiesner’s Tuesday.  If you haven’t read that one, you are seriously missing out.

If I’m feeling romantic, I read Jane Austen.  Persuasion is my favorite of her books.

Now for the Question of the Day…

What have you always wanted to do but never did because you were too scared?  This could be an adventure, a goofy act, speaking your mind to someone about something that drives you crazy, a performance….  Is it a matter of guts, or are you afraid you’d fail?

For me, I’d have to say that I’d love to craft for a living, but that just ain’t gonna happen.  (Please pardon my poor grammar.)  I am no entrepeneur, and I don’t think my stuff is professional quality — although I’d love to learn how to improve my skills.  Most of what I do is self-taught, though some of that self-teaching builds on basics that I learned from others.  So what’s your pipe dream?

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

One response to “Just a reminder and a QotD

  • bythelbs

    My pipe dream is to have a column a la Erma Bombeck in our local community weekly. I dream BIG. Once upon a time I thought that was something I could conceivably pull off. Now, not so much.

    I’ll have to ponder this book question some more, though Austen is certainly on my short list.

Leave a Reply

