Playing Hooky

Today was the day of the dreaded school fundraiser assembly.  This is the first year that we found out ahead of time exactly when the assembly would be.  I did something sort of naughty and signed BratzBasher out for the hour.  She doesn’t participate in the fundraiser (we make a donation and avoid the sales), and she didn’t miss any real school.  I don’t feel the least bit guilty, and BB was so grateful that she finished her chores while at home.  I also took advantage of the opportunity to make her a decent breakfast.  The girl is so slow in the mornings that she rarely has time for more than toast and a mug of milk.

Last night was the quarterly storytellers meeting that Merkin and BB always attend.  They told a tandem story called, “That’s nice.  That’s very, very nice.  (Should there be a comma there?  And what’s the plural of “very”?  Ah well.) Maybe I should get Merkin to tell it to me so I can share it with y’all.

I was feeling incredibly restless, so I decided to get out of the house myself and go to the library.  I found three books with embroidery ideas.  Two of them are stained glass pattern books.  The other is Doodlestitching, and the motifs in there really do look like doodles done in thread.  They’re rather cutesy.  They had a really cute idea for embroidering canvas shoes, but I think the knots on the inside would bother my feet.  I’m rather sensitive to that sort of thing.

I also found this illustration of a peacock that I really want to embroider.  It’d be a longer project, but I think I could do it. 

It was illustrating a blurb about free patterns, but I couldn’t find any links or mention of the artist’s name.  There’s also a peacock design in one of the stained glass books, but I like this one better.

Sometimes I play with the Paint program and make possible stained glass designs.  I could use those for patterns, too.  Here’s one that’s a work in progress:

I’m not sure how I feel about the bottom part, but I really like the bubbles on wavy lines.

 

Well, I have to shuffle laundry now.  Then maybe I should think about lunch.

 

 

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

2 responses to “Playing Hooky

  • Lorrie

    Did they have a picture you could copy of the peacock? If not it would be very easy to draw. What size would you like it? I would need at least 4″X6″ but large might be nice too. I did a scrapbook page with a peacock. It was all cut paper so not as easy to create the same look but I love the look of a peacock.

  • foo4luv

    I have a larger image of it on my computer that I can print out. I’m trying to decide if I want to keep it small in order to give the appearance of thicker plumage, or if I want to make it bigger in order to make the feathers appear more delicate. It will definitely be intended for framing, so I should keep that in mind, too.

Leave a Reply

