Monday meh.

I missed my latest weight loss deadline.  No flowers for me.  I set another goal, though.  Hopefully I can meet the new one.

I don’t quite feel like eating today.  My lack of appetite is in no way related to the weight thing.  I’m just not hungry yet.  I had a banana that I didn’t want for breakfast.  Considering the fact that I didn’t want it, it was surprisingly good.  Usually, I can’t force myself to eat when I’m not interested.  Still, I needed something, and fruit seemed to be the least of all the evils in the house.  I should really take a leaf out of my friend Christy’s book and get rid of all the junk.

I’m going to Michigan next month to see the Purple Lady.  She just turned 91.  I promise I’ll come back with pictures.

I’ve been trying to come up with new designs to embroider.  I’ve already finished two stamped embroidery projects.  Wait.  Does that make sense?  Maybe I should explain that I stamp an image on the fabric and then embroider it.  Better?  Yeah.  So I finished this really pretty swirly pattern with hearts:

and this one showing a tree in the four different seasons:

I’m going to make a mini quilt out of the tree panels (which are only about two inches across, maybe two and a half), and I plan to make some sort of book cover (journal or photo album) out of the swirly one.  I have no idea what to do next, though.  I took some yellow gingham I had to church with me yesterday so I could experiment with stitching on that during church, but the results weren’t very pleasing.  I need a real pattern — to color in the lines.  Maybe I’ll have to draw my own designs.  The ones above are from Stampin’ Up!  (That’s not me being excited.  The company just happens to have an exclamation point at the end of its name.)

Well, it’s not quite noon, and I really need to do something productive today.  Maybe laundry.  Sigh.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

4 responses to “Monday meh.

  • Lorrie

    I’ll draw you something. I used to draw things for embroidery. It’s been a while but I don’t think my skills are too rusty. The question is if you would like it.

    If you don’t want my drawings I do have a box of stamps that you could look through. They would be more professional and I even have some Stamping Up!.

    • foo4luv

      I would love that. Even if something isn’t to my personal taste, I do give embroidery away as gifts and have friends with varying tastes. I’d take a gander at your stamps, too.

      I have a feeling this is going to become one of my major hobbies, and I’d like to have a wide variety of patterns to choose from. Kits from the store are not only on the pricey side but limited to what’s trending. A lot of them have very little embroidery on them, too. There seem to be more projects that are mostly printed decoration with embroidered embellishments. Those are too quick (many can be done in one sitting) and, in my opinion, look mass-produced. I think embroidery done by hand should require more effort and time. Otherwise, what’s the point? Not to mention that the projects will last longer and serve the purpose of keeping my hands occupied when I have to sit for long periods of time, which is the reason I took up this hobby in the first place.

  • Lorrie

    Give me a call and we can get together. That would be fun. I haven’t done any embroidery for a while. I would love to see what you have done.

  • bythelbs

    LOVE the trees! The swirls are lovely, too.

Leave a Reply

