Once more, with feeling!

As I am currently rereading (or is that “re-reading”? — whatever) one of my all-time favorite books: Watership Down, I thought it might be fun to find out what everyone else’s favorite books are.  So I’m having another contest!  Because they’re fun.

I’m naming the contest after my favorites bookshelf on Goodreads: “Again! Again! Again!”  (Okay, it’s actually “again-again-again”, but that’s because Goodreads wouldn’t let me do it my way.)

Entering is very simple.  Just post a comment telling me your favorite book (one book, not an author or series — though it can be part of a series.) that you love to read over and over and over again, and explain why it’s so awesome.  The winner will be judged solely on their post, not their chosen book.  So don’t be afraid to admit that your favorite go-to is some steamy bodice ripper or even Hop on Pop.

The winner will receive a paperback copy of any book on my again-again-again shelf*, provided that it’s still in print — which I think they all are.  Entry comments must be submitted to this post before 12:00 am, October 1, 2011.

*Prize choices exclude book compilations (e.g., Winnie the Pooh Treasury)/collections.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

4 responses to “Once more, with feeling!

  • madhousewife

    Well, now I’m re-imagining Hop on Pop as a steamy bodice ripper. So thanks for that image!

    My favorite book is Little Women. I like it because I have always identified with Jo–who is a writer and socially awkward, just like me! Except that she’s socially awkward because she’s so loud and outspoken, unlike me! At any rate, she does not fit in with polite society, just like me! And did I mention that she is a writer? Anyway, she also struggles with her temper and trying to be good. She doesn’t feel comfortable in the traditional female role and wants to have a career–I always related to that…even after I, uh, dumped my career and took on a traditional female role. Anyway! I like that it is so long and covers several years, so it is a book I can really sink my teeth into, as it were. I have my favorite parts that I sometimes read by themselves. I have read it more times than I can remember. But it’s been a while. Maybe it’s time to read it again.

    P.S. Jo is also the second-born, just like me!

    P.P.S. I’m also always disappointed every time Jo doesn’t marry Laurie. But I know it’s probably for the best. If I were her, I probably would have gone ahead and married him and ruined my life. Good thing she’s just a fictional character. Sometimes I wish I were, too.

  • Lorrie

    When I was growing up my home didn’t have one book. Not even the Bible. So I was a late reader. My husband introduced me to reading for pleasure. The book that fits your description as a goto book for me is TUESDAYS WITH MORRIE by Mitch Alborn. Profound and simple. I think often of the story and then go back to read passages. A must read for any reader.

Leave a Reply

