I was there! And now I’m here.

Merkin and I got to see/hear BratzBasher play at half-time after all.  They let us in to pick her up, and the kids were just getting on the field to play.  Excellent timing.  Despite her complaints about the weight of the sousaphone and the heat, I think BB enjoyed herself.  She was the smallest sousaphone player there — unusual because she’s the tallest kid in seventh grade band.  It was cute.

Now, let’s move on to other things.

I worked my last volunteer shift at the library bookstore.  They’ll be open two more days.  One of the district librarians sent my boss somewhere between 200 and 400 beanies that had been forgotten in a storage room somewhere.  She sent them Friday.  Thanks, librarian lady.  We now have three days to get rid of hundreds of witch and skeleton beanies.  Thanks ever so much.  The witches are cute, but the skeletons are ugly.  I don’t even know why there were so many of them at a library branch and not in the bookstore storage room.  What’s up with that?  I know I didn’t see them a few years ago when I did the inventory at every branch.  Ah well.  Anybody want a Halloween beanie?  They may go for 25¢ before the end.  At that price, you could give them to trick-or-treaters.

I’ve taken down the giant utility table in the front room and replaced it with my sewing table.  I think my sewing table is a little bulky and I wish I had a way to easily hide the underside — especially the cords.  Maybe when I’m all done redecorating I’ll find myself a new one.  Too bad they don’t make the new sleek models according to the specs of my ancient machine.  I’ll have to adapt.  But that’s not for a while.

In the meantime, I have more wall space and a bunch of stuff without a home.  I’m still trying to organize my sewing stuff.  There’s a lot.  Maybe I need to go through my notions and chuck the stuff I won’t use.  You know, like…well, I don’t know.  I’m sure I have something I don’t need.  Okay, I’ll do what I did with my fabric and chuck anything that doesn’t have a project attached to it and can’t be used for quicky repairs.  That ought to eliminate some sewing clutter, right?  I need to go through my craft closet again, too, and chuck stuff I won’t use.  I know I have a ton.  Maybe I need to sell off/give away some of my stamps.  I swear I’m not entirely certain why I bought a few of those.  I think they might have been give-aways/hostess gifts/really cheap/whatever.  Or I could have just (inadvertently, of course) inhaled too much spray glue.  Who knows?

I’m sure I had something else to say, but I don’t remember what it was.

I need something to do now that my volunteer job is done.  I have an open schedule again.  Merkin suggested trying my luck in the job market again.  He suggested two applications/week.  I think I’ll run out of places I’m willing to work.  Know anyone who’s hiring?  For now, I’m turning the house upside down in an attempt to improve our living conditions.  So far, so good.  I think.  At least my house isn’t rejecting me.

 

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

Leave a Reply

