I’m not there! Does that make me a bad mother?

I’m missing BratzBasher’s first band performance of the year.  The 7th and 8th graders are playing with the high school marching band during the half time show of tonight’s football game.  She has to play the sousaphone so she can march.  I stayed for the first run through of their practice before leaving, so I did get to hear her play and see her standing at attention with her gigantic instrument.  [You know what would be cool?  A sousaphone painted like a boa constrictor.  Okay, maybe not.]  I could have attended the football game and watched the actual performance, but I had no intention of paying money to watch a football game.  I’m picking her up after half time instead.

There has been much anxiety about this upcoming performance and the switch to sousaphone, figuring out a lyre rig for the said sousaphone…all of this anxiety coming from me, of course.  Merkin and BB were totally cool with everything.  Well, Merkin was from the start.  It took BB a couple of days.  Hey, somebody has to do the worrying around here, right?  But it’s all cool now.  I’m okay.

My living room is in transition again.  I’m taking down the giant utility table that has dominated one wall for years.  I’m replacing it with my actual sewing table, which is much smaller and not so warehouse-y.  Did that make sense?

Anyway…I collected another three boxes worth of junk perfectly good, useful stuff to donate to the local thrift store.  I included four of the eleven umbrellas I found in the closet.  Yes, that’s right.  Eleven.  E-LE-VEN.  11.  I couldn’t believe it.  Two were broken beyond repair.  All those times I couldn’t find an umbrella, and there were eleven in the closet!  Crazy.  It’s like the umbrellas were a water bottle in my car.  Sigh.  Who knew our closet could hold that many umbrellas?

On an even more positive note…I met my weight loss goal for this month!  I am now officially 5 lbs lighter!  Wii Fit gave me flowers on the screen.  I’ve never met my goal by the deadline before.

Well, I’m off to do something productive before I need to pick up the kid.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

Leave a Reply

