Not bad for an amateur, eh?

I’ve been thinking I need to paint more.  I’ve got a bunch of canvases that Merkin and BratzBasher bought me the last time I was painting (years ago) that I should really use.  I wanted to do something with gears, because I think they’re really cool-looking.  That’s probably the biggest reason why I like the steampunk style so much.

Anyway…I found some diagrams of gears and fiddled around with different ones, connecting them together on tracing paper.  I didn’t have any clear idea what I wanted the finished product to look like.  I originally planned to do really big gears that wouldn’t fit on the canvas — you know, just show partials of overlapping and interconnected pieces.  I wound up working with much smaller images, though.

I had a grouping of three that I liked, so I just transferred them from the tracing paper over and over, building a larger group.  Once I had the picture on canvas in pencil, I realized that I totally forgot to do my background.  Okay, I’ll just work around it somehow.  I’m using acrylics.  This is still totally possible.  I painted the gears and then tried to come up with a background.  I was thinking a solid color at first, but BratzBasher suggested I do something with rust.  She supervised the mixing of what paint I did have until I came up with something she liked.  I thought it was a bit dark, so I thinned it out at first.  The final result was a happy accident.  Painting inward with a foam brush left a concentration of color around the inner edges.  I finished it off with matte black behind the gears, fading into the rusty edges that I was seriously liking.

It’s not a masterpiece, but I was pleased with the result.  Until I took pictures, that is.  The first few came out really fuzzy, so I set the camera on a stable surface to get a clearer picture.  When I uploaded them to the computer, I realized that the best photo was one of the fuzzy ones.  It looks better than the painting!  The fuzziness creates a cool 3D effect that I like a lot.  Maybe I’ll just have a print made and hang that on the wall. I wish I’d gotten a straighter shot.

(Click on picture for full 3D effect)

What do y’all think?  Painting?  Print?  Both?  I have no idea where they’re going to end up.  I don’t have any place to hang them right now.

I must say, BB was right to suggest the rust color.  She’s got an impressive artistic side.

If I had it to do all over again (which I swore I wouldn’t after painting all those little cogs), I’d add more gears going underneath the rust edges.  It kind of looks like rock, doesn’t it?

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

2 responses to “Not bad for an amateur, eh?

  • madhousewife

    I like the painting. Of course, I am looking at a picture of the painting, not the actual painting. But I like it! It’s my opinion! I don’t know how I feel about the blurry. These days everything looks a little blurry to me when my glasses aren’t on, and when I have my glasses on and things are still blurry, I think it freaks my brain out.

    Anyway, it’s cool! Do more painting!

  • Christy Flood

    Do more painting, definitely. I love it. I think it is really cool. I would hang it up, if it were mine.

Leave a Reply

