Look at me – posting two days in a row. And with book reviews!

Not that I have much to say right now.  I just got back from my shift at the bookstore to find that the mail carrier can’t tell the difference between 19 and 10.  I had a bit of a walk to put that package on its rightful doorstep.  I did knock first, but nobody was answering, so I made like a postwoman and left it.

By the way, Merkin, you’ve got a package, too.  I have a feeling it contains more anime with which to bribe our little girl.

It was very quiet, as usual, in the bookstore, so I did some embroidery and read a lot.  My current book is Department 19, by Will Hill.  It’s about vampires and the dudes who slay them.  More about one slayer in particular, actually, but that didn’t sound as funny in my head.  It’s not bad.

That reminds me.  It’s been ages since I published a book review here.  If you haven’t been visiting my goodreads library, here’s a few recent reads:

Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith: Juvenile delinquent Alex Sawyer is framed for the murder of his best friend by the sinister guards of the newest prison installation – a place called Furnace.  Built in a cavern a mile beneath the earth’s surface, Furnace isn’t exactly the prison it claims to be. Strange, frightening events point to a secret, malevolent agenda.

Seriously creepy bad guys. The characters are written well enough to engage the reader’s sympathy. Alex isn’t my favorite, but he is certainly the best choice for narrator. I almost gave this four stars, but I think it really deserves a 3.5 rating. Warning: This book ends on a serious cliffhanger.  I’ve already started the second book: Solitary.

Gideon’s Sword, by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child: Gideon Crew devotes his life to seeking vengeance against the man who framed his father for treason.  I thought this might be good because I like the Pendergast series.  I was disappointed.  It was okay, but I’m not sure if I liked it enough to read another. The first part was interesting, but Gideon got on my nerves after a while. I needed more of his backstory, I think, but I doubt it’s worth reading any more of the series in the hopes of getting it.

Tears of the Giraffe by Alexander McCall Smith: This is the second in the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series.  I like the way Smith writes.  It’s simple and sweet, like the characters.  I found the subplot dealing with Precious Romatswe and her new fiance Mr. J.L.B. Matekoni more entertaining than the main mystery.  That Matekoni is such a pushover.  Fortunately, Mma Ramotswe has enough backbone for the both of them.  Especially fortunate for him, she doesn’t wield it over him.

Infinity: the Chronicles of Nick by Sherrilyn Kenyon:  Nick is a kid from the wrong side of New Orleans.  His dad’s in prison for murder, and his heart-of-gold mom works as a stripper at a club on Bourbon Street.  You’d think that a scholarship to a prestigious private school would be his ticket out of his rotten life, but destiny has other plans.

Local gun shop owner/computer repairman/zombie hunter Bubba is reason enough to read this one, though he’s just a supporting character. I loved the dialogue and the plotlines, but the characters of a book tend to be the real clincher, and this one doesn’t disappoint.  Although, if you’re looking for something serious, go ahead and pass. There is a serious, underlying plot, but the main story in this volume is hysterically funny. It’d make a great anime, actually. I’d love to watch this on-screen, but live-action couldn’t do it justice.

Well, I suppose I should find something productive to do until it’s time to get BratzBasher.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

Leave a Reply

