Renaissance Faire

Our family attended the Renaissance Faire on Saturday.  Merkin and BratzBasher were working as storytellers there, and I got comped a ticket.  It was fun.  There were some crazy costumes, though.  And by “crazy”, I mean “scary”.  Way too much cleavage.  Apparently, all the female attendees prefer to dress as doxies (naughty wenches).  My research indicated that the bodices were designed to create cleavage, but some stopped just under the breasts — which were rather too loosely contained within the excess fabric of the undergown.  I was glad to see that there were plenty of women who covered up with higher necklines.  BratzBasher’s costume was very modest.  Here’s a front view.

(It was a full-length photo, but my fingertip was showing.  You’re not missing anything.)  I did the embroidery on the front.  You can’t see it very well, but it’s yellow flowers on a winding green stem.  I’m kicking myself for not taking a picture of the back, and who knows when I’ll talk her into putting the thing on again.  She never complained about the clothing being too hot, though.  She was a real trooper.  Plus, I think the skirts were probably as cool as shorts would have been.  Oh, and I told her to smile, but she was annoyed at the whole picture-taking thing.  She takes after her parents in that respect.

I got a couple pics of Merkin because he couldn’t stop me while onstage.  He did make me promise not to show the picture of him with a sausage on his nose.  It wasn’t a real sausage.  I found a pair of brown, toddler-sized tights and figured one of the legs would make a perfect sausage prop once I stuffed it with cotton and tied both ends off.  I added an elastic string to one end so he could wear it for his fisherman story — the one in which the fisherman releases a magic fish that grants him and his wife three wishes, and his wife wishes a sausage onto his nose.  The prop was Merkin’s idea, and it got a lot of laughs.

Well, I suppose I should shower at some point today.  Wonder what I’ll do once I’m dressed.  I guess there’s always housework. *snort*

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

3 responses to “Renaissance Faire

Leave a Reply

