Missouri’s summer has begun.

It’s May, and that means summer in these here parts.  Summer means hot and humid.  Muggy.  The kind of weather that just makes you want to nap all day because it’s too hot to do anything else.

I used to live in the basement during the summer months, watching TV and movies all day.  I don’t want to live in the basement this year.  That means I’ll have to find some other solution.  Anyone know what I can do in air conditioned comfort that isn’t at my own expense (translation: in a building other than my home)?

I’d hang out at the library, except that gets old after a while — not to mention the lack of truly comfortable chairs.  I’m hoping there will be comfy chairs aplenty after they finish the remodel.  Every library should have comfy chairs.  The University City library has padded bathtubs in the children’s section.  (Is “children’s” not a word?  Should it not be hyphenated, or something?  I’ve always thought it was the possessive form of “children”, but spell check doesn’t agree.)  I’d love to hang out in a padded bathtub.  If I were rich, I’d put one in my personal library.  It’d be like a couch, only cozier.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

6 responses to “Missouri’s summer has begun.

  • madhousewife

    Padded bathtub! What a great idea.

    “Children’s” is totally correct. Spell check is stupid.

  • merkin4

    The gym is air conditioned, but all the (uncomfortable) chairs there have bicycle pedals attached, which kind of defeats the purpose.

    I suppose the other solution is to find a husband who makes more money so he can afford to set the thermostat lower. These $300 electric bills are crazy.

    • foo4luv

      After seeing the outside temperature rise to 104 degrees yesterday, I suddenly don’t mind 85 degrees at all. I guess I just have to find things to distract me and remember to drink lots of cold water. I may have to make room in the fridge for a water pitcher again.

  • Christy Flood

    Guess what? My cousin in Utah reads by the lbs and madhousewife. How strange is that?

Leave a Reply

