Random junk

I was uncharacteristically productive yesterday.  The house, however, showed no signs of said productivity, which is very much in character for me.  I’m referring to cleanliness being a sign of productivity.  The cookies on the dining room table don’t count. Here’s what I did:

  • I made breakfast for BratzBasher and myself.
  • I cleaned out the fabric-filled tub I found in the craft closet and filled it with other stuff that could conceivably belong there. (The fabric belongs in the sewing bin.)
  • I emptied one of the several tubs o’ stuff in front of the craft closet and put the items in the closet in an orderly fashion.
  • I made lunch for BratzBasher and myself, including the mashed potatoes I was craving.  It was my first time making mashed potatoes.  They turned out all right.
  • I made two batches of cookies: ginger snaps (which aren’t very snappy — I think I made them too big.) and BratzBasher’s prize chocolate chip cookies.  BB helped with the latter.  As is usual when assisting/being assisted by BB, I got an ingredient amount wrong and caused her to put in an extra egg.  They turned out all right.  Chocolate chip cookies can be very forgiving.
  • I Cleaned up my mess.  Well, from the cookies.
  • I put together my brother’s birthday present and have it all sealed and ready to take the the post office.  It needs postage.
  • I wrote out two notes for visiting teaching sisters who are “mail contact only”, using the awesome cards I designed at the R&S work day that I have since completed.

BratzBasher is preparing items for a time capsule activity at Young Women’s tomorrow, including her Spock keychain, a Pink Floyd: The Wall pin, a teeny tiny devil ducky, and a golden spike pin that is supposed to be a souvenir from the site where they finished the transcontinental railroad (a present from one of the grandmas) but instead represents a stake with which to kill vampires.  I told her she should write out a note to remind her future self what everything means.

Well, I’ve got more stuff to do today, and a lunch date with a friend.  I’d better shower and dress, don’t you think?

But first, let’s have another Question of the Day/Week/Whatever.

What would you put in a time capsule for your future self/descendants?

Please list at least three items.  It isn’t necessary to explain their significance.  I think it’s more fun to leave people wondering, “What the heck is that supposed to represent?”  I’ll need to ponder some more before I list my three.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

3 responses to “Random junk

  • merkin4

    Comic books. In fact, I told the kid that if she got her homework/jobs done tonight, I would take her to the comic book store so she can pick out a few suitable issues for said YW time capsule.

    T-Shirt. Something from a current movie or band tour.

    Photos – house, vehicles, bedroom, parents, friends, stuff like that.

    I knew a guy in college who, upon turning 18, was presented with a copy of Pl**boy magazine from the month he born – his dad had stored it for him so someday he could see what was going on in pop culture when he was born. Don’t know that I’d go that exact route, but it was an interesting idea just the same.

  • bythelbs

    You had never made mashed potatoes before???

    I haven’t figured out a brother bday present. I have had a card for two weeks, but it has yet to be addressed or postaged.

    She should definitely write a note about the time capsule things. We did this activity last year in our YW and one of our leaders opened hers from 12 years before the night we did ours and she didn’t remember what the deal was with more than half of the stuff.

    I don’t know what I’d put in mine besides the standard photos. I’ll have to think on it.

Leave a Reply

