Crafting Again

I’m on this new medication.  I think it’s having a positive effect.  I’m not as crabby as I normally am this time of the month, I’m feeling (and being) more productive, and my creative side is rearing its crafty head again. 

I signed up for a craft BINGO thing at one of the local library branches.  Instead of playing for money, you play for craft prizes, and there will also be a pincushion swap.  I loved a good swap, so I’ve been experimenting with different pincushion ideas, trying to come up with one I feel good about trading.  I think I’ll be sticking with my trusty, old tomato for personal sewing use, but a wrist pincushion would come in handy, so I might make one of those for myself.  

BratzBasher has officially appropriated the bunny for herself, but wishes to use it as an accessory and has asked me to replace the pin whiskers with thread ones.

I apologize for any blurriness.  I don’t know where the tripod is. 

This next one I might keep for when I’m  pinning patterns to fabric.  I always seem to wind up far away from my tomato and have to crawl back to it for more pins.  I had a face on it that I made from pins, but it looked like I was trying too hard, if you know what I mean.  I think the curly sunrays make it cute enough.

The cupcake is actually only a pincushion on top.  The base is made from one of those cardboard cupcake-shaped boxes you can get at a craft store.  I got mine at JoAnn’s.  The cherry on top is a button, and the sprinkles are pins.  I covered the base in some corduroy I got cheap in the remnants bin.  Not the color I normally would have chosen, but the ribs look like the currogated folds of a cupcake liner.  I just wish I could have made it less blumpy near the bottom where I folded the fabric under.  The bottom is covered with a piece of felt.  The thing I like about this one is that the pins normally stick out a little, making it easier to pluck one out quickly.  I had to angle them to get them all the way in for the sprinkles.

Here’s all three of them together:

So what do you think?  Are any of these good enough to be seen at an event peopled by seasoned crafters?

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

3 responses to “Crafting Again

Leave a Reply

