But the wheels haven’t fallen off yet!

I drive a 1998 Buick Regal.  It’s purple — eggplant purple.  It just came that way — I didn’t even have to pay extra.  How awesome is that?  I’ll show you:

Okay, it looks more like a car than this, but the color is accurate.

Anyway…Merkin hates my car, but he only says so when it’s broken down and costing us money.  That’s okay.  It’s my car, not his.  I love it.  Except when it’s broken down and costing us money — ’cause I can’t drive it then.

There are lots of things that are wrong/broken/less than beautiful about my car:

  • The brake lights on the spoiler no longer work and have to be held to the spoiler with black duct tape.  That’s okay.  I still have working brake lights in the usual places.
  • The tape deck has a Hootie and the Blowfish cassette stuck in it.  It was like that when we got it.  That’s okay.  There’s a cd player.
  • The top seal of the driver’s side door is not securely fastened all the way across.  It tends to flap a bit when I’m opening/closing the door, and it sometimes leaks during a really bad rainstorm.
  • There’s something wrong with the ignition that prevents the key from turning the car all the way off.  The engine will turn off, but the battery is still engaged.  This caused us much grief until Merkin found the solution through an internet search.  There is a little spot under the steering wheel where you can insert a screwdriver (or other long, thin implement) and poke something in there that triggers whatever allows that final little twist of the key.  So that’s okay.  I just carry a screwdriver in my car all the time.
  • It’s got this kind of ugly bra on the front that’s probably covering up unsightly damage from an accident.  I don’t know.  I’ve never looked under it.  The velcro on a couple of the straps has lost its cling, so those straps sort of flap in the wind.  Why do they call those things bras?  I’ve considered taking it off, but it helps me find my car.  (As if its being purple weren’t enough.)
  • I’m sure Merkin can come up with a few more, but that’s all I’ve noticed.

Despite its flaws, I love my car.  It’s comfy — in that granny boat way.  It has power windows, power seat adjusters, controls for the radio set into the steering wheel, and did I mention it’s purple.  Purple isn’t my favorite color, but I like it.  And I like the fact that my car’s hue is in the minority these days.

Why am I telling you all of this?  Alas.  My car is broken.  I’m still hoping it’s fixable, but it started acting up again on the way home from the mechanic today.  Sigh.  I just know my next car won’t be purple.  Hopefully, I won’t have to confirm that anytime in the near future.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

2 responses to “But the wheels haven’t fallen off yet!

  • madhousewife

    I’m glad that having a Hootie & the Blowfish cassette stuck in the player hasn’t forced you to listen to Hootie & the Blowfish whenever you are in the car. That would be a deal breaker for moi.

    • foo4luv

      It’s more like the remnants of a Hootie & the Blowfish tape. We got most of it out with pliers. That’s how we found out the title. It didn’t play anyway. It was tangled up in the mechanisms.

      I agree that any car that forces you to listen to one tape over and over again every time you’re in it would be unthinkable. Definite deal breaker.

Leave a Reply

