Been there. Read that.

A friend sent me a link, and now I’m building an impressive “library” at goodreads.com.  It’s sort of like a virtual card catalog for all the books I’ve read.  That I can remember.  I also have a list (or “shelf”) of books I want to read, a list of books I’m reading now, and I can post reviews of what I’ve read.  Sometimes I find new books for my reading wish list there, but I usually don’t need the extra help with that.  All of my book reviews will be on there, but I’ll still post the really good ones here, too.  I can’t review everything I’ve read, but I try to review all the five-star reads (or at least the first in a five-star series) and all the one-star reads (gotta tell you why it sucked, don’t I?) and quite a few of the more recent reads in between.  Anyone can view my bookshelves/reviews.  I’ve got a link for the website’s homepage in the vegetable garden and the one under “whatcha readin’?” is for my personal bookshelves.

If you do a lot of reading, I recommend signing up.  There’s nothing worse than getting a book and then finding out that you’ve not only read it before but hated it.  (Well, okay, there are a ton of worse things, but not in the category of selecting books.) I’m sure there are a lot of people who just list stuff they’ve read since signing on, but I’ve gone through the database and tagged any book I can remember reading — as far back as I can remember.  I guess it’s sort of like the people who are totally into building up their number of  “friends” on facebook. I have 974 friends and counting. 🙂

Apparently, there’s another similar website called Shelfari that’s affiliated with amazon.com, but I have no intention of setting up two reading databases.  Besides, I don’t want amazon.com spamming me even more because of all the posting I’d be doing on Shelfari.  I have no idea if reviews there are as accessible as my goodreads shelf.  (I have it set on “anyone can read”, but there are more selective options.)  Every time I’ve tried to check it out, it keeps insisting I log on through my amazon account.  Forget that.

So what are you reading?

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

3 responses to “Been there. Read that.

  • madhousewife

    Right now I am trying to finish a romantic thriller called “Scream for Me” that I bought for $1 – okay, maybe $2 – at the library MONTHS ago, and I just can’t seem to get into it. I’m about halfway into it and the only thing that really keeps me reading is that it’s so freaking confusing and I’m hoping for an eventual Scooby Doo ending that will explain everything to me.

  • bythelbs

    I’m reading “Where the Red Fern Grows” for the first time. I’m afraid to finish it because I know it’s going to be very sad.

Leave a Reply

