Snowpocalypse? Snowmageddon? OH! Snow storm. Got it.

I love how the news anchor last night explained that they weren’t trying to alarm anybody or blow things out of proportion before he launched into how devastating the coming three-day storm would be.  Kind of reminds me of a roommate I once had who would always say, “But that’s all I’m going to say about that” before she launched into an in-depth discussion on the matter she’d just said she was done discussing.  You can focus on my calm demeanor, or you can stare in terror at the giant flashing “THE END IS NEAR!” graphic in the upper right hand corner of your TV screen.  It’s your choice, but it isn’t our intention to alarm you unnecessarily.  Yeah, okay.

What they should really be telling me is that my kid is going to be home for most of the week, so be prepared for serious cabin fever.  Actually, it’s just been one day so far, and she slept through the first half of it, so….

You know what people grab when they’re preparing for a snowstorm?  Bread and sand.  There’s a joke in there somewhere, I think.  Hmm…what could it be?  Anyway — Merkin stopped off at the Walmart yesterday to grab sandwich bread for BratzBasher (because she is very particular about her sandwiches), and there were three loaves left.  Of all the bread they had in the store.  Three loaves: seeded rye, pumpernickel, and sesame french bread.  He knew Linda would eat the french bread, so he grabbed that.  Each checkout line was at least nine carts long, and a lot of them were stuffed with bread — but not all of them because apparently some people won’t even eat sesame french bread.

He also stopped at Home Depot to grab their last 50-lb bag of sand and a bag of gravel for the back of his pickup because he was expected to drive into work today.  His boss gets to “work from home”.  They sent everyone home at noon today anyway, so BB wasn’t even dressed when he got back.  But he had the giant bags of sand and gravel to weigh down the back of the truck for better traction, and to get him out of a rut if he got stuck anywhere — which he didn’t.  Daddy is smart.  S-M-A-R-T.

I’ve got just two more books to finish for library bingo: Thinking in Pictures and Mary Poppins, and I’m halfway or further through both of those, so it’s really more like one book left.  Watch for the post-reading program book reviews.

I also have five DVDs due at the rental store tomorrow.  Hmm…I wonder if I can call and get an extension if I’m still snowed in.  If I’d watched my last two Sunday night, I could’ve returned them yesterday.  I would not have actually done that,  but I COULD have.

Anybody else got weather?

Extra credit question: What is the significance of February 3, 2011?  (Correct answer to be announced on Thursday.)

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

5 responses to “Snowpocalypse? Snowmageddon? OH! Snow storm. Got it.

Leave a Reply

