When does school start again?

Well, it took about 30-45 minutes to get BratzBasher to leave so I could post in peace.  Scratch that.  She’s still talking to me.  Okay, now she’s gone.  Sigh.  I’m getting kid overload.  I need school to start.  Luckily, my prayers will be answered tomorrow.  By 8:00 am, my little bur will be attached to a truck headed for the nearest junior high.  Attached on the inside.  I don’t mean I’m going to tie her to the hood like a felled deer.  That reminds me of a funny story told by champion storyteller Bill Lepp.  He was driving around town during hunting season with his buddy, both wearing costume deer heads while a mannequin dressed as a hunter was strapped to the hood of their truck.  Very funny story.  I laughed my butt off.

Why do people say they laugh their “butt” off?  Don’t any other body parts fall off due to excessive laughter?  I think it would be more accurate to say they fell on their butt, laughing.  Unless they were wearing a hubba hiney (like the one Shirley got in that one episode of Laverne and Shirley) and it detached as a result of the fall.

Okay, I think it’s time to actually got to what I meant to post in the first place, before my kid got on my nerves.  Bless her little pea pickin’ heart. (My mother used to say that a lot.)

Weird things about Barbie dolls (besides their unnatural proportions):

  • Their feet are stuck in high heel position — with the exception of gymnast and ballerina barbies.
  • They’ve got convex armpits.  Seriously.  They’re like tumors.  Barbie’s carting around a grapefruit under each arm.
  • They can’t nod.  Their heads only go side to side.  At least, that’s how it was in my day.  As BratzBasher pointed out, “Barbie can only say ‘no’.”

I guess that’s all that’s bugging me for now.  It’s time for dinner.  Tomorrow (or, rather, when I next post) I will tell you all about Tangled.  Here’s a hint: It was really good.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

3 responses to “When does school start again?

  • bythelbs

    I rather enjoyed Tangled, too.

    Barbie is just a big hot mess.

    I wish I had a hubba hiney. Or rather, I wish my hubba hiney was detachable.

  • madhousewife

    Yours is the best explanation I’ve ever heard for the expression “laugh your butt off.”

    I think Barbie saying “no” sends a good message to girls. I’m sure that was the intention in the design.

  • Michael

    I’m pretty sure I’ve heard “laughing my head off”. So there’s two body parts that can be lost during moments of extreme mirth. Perhaps the loss of body parts is limited to the extreme ends of the alimentary canal.

Leave a Reply

