‘Bout time for another post

I really don’t have anything in particular to blog about today, but I need to get in the habit of posting more often.  So let’s see if I’ve got anything on my mind…

I’m going to CA on the 9th.  I’m looking forward to seeing family and friends, despite how stressful traveling is for me.  I mentioned this to my psychiatrist, and he wanted to know why it was stressful.  “Do you not get along with your family?”  No, that’s not it.  I just get stressed when I have to spend an extended period of time away from home.  If I forget my monkey pillow, it’s ten times worse because I’m not sleeping properly.  (Have I mentioned my monkey pillow before?  It’s just the right size and squishability to fit under my head and in the crook of my neck.  Plus, it’s a monkey — complete with long, curly tail.)

Anyway — to add to the stress this year is the fact that I’ll probably spend too much of my visit (and by too much, I mean any time at all) thinking about how much I’m dreading the scanner at the airport.  Yes, folks, Ontario has ’em.  Hmm…airport goons looking at naked photos of me or airport goons groping me?  Decisions, decisions.  I’m thinking I’ll stick with the scan, but that doesn’t necessarily mean I won’t get pulled for a random grope search.  Anybody know where I can find a lead leotard?  Perhaps I could fashion one out of a couple of those aprons they have at the dentist’s office.  This may be the last time I fly to CA for a while.  Or anywhere that has those icky scanners. *shudder*

I’m trying not to think about how fast Christmas is coming.  I’m also trying not to feel guilty about not thinking about it.  I have no idea what to get Merkin.  I never know what to get him.  BratzBasher is easy.  I’ve got all her stuff done except the jammies.  I’ve already received my major Christmas present.  Merkin got me a dressmaker’s dummy.  I’ve been wanting one for years, but they’re so dang expensive.  JoAnn’s website had them at a third of the price.  It arrived on our doorstep this evening, and BB is totally jazzed because the fact that it has 12 size adjustment points means that you can make one buttock bigger than the other.  Well, actually it’s the hips.  The dummy has no buttocks.

I should be doing another book review post soon.  I’ve been reading/listening to loads of books.  Mainly short, young adult novels.  I’m currently working my way through Alex Flinn’s A Kiss in Time.  It’s a version of Sleeping Beauty.  It’s not a four-star work of literary genius, but it’s kind of fun.  Talia slept for 300 years before Jack came along and kissed her.  Now it’s the 20th century, and her parents are royally pissed that her carelessness has, for all intents and purposes, destroyed the kingdom.  What else can a princess do but spring her reluctant true love out of jail (he did kiss the princess) and run off with him to Miami.  Hey, Sleeping Beauty!  You just woke up from a 300-year nap.  What are you going to do now?  I’m going to Disneyworld!  Actually, they haven’t been to Disneyworld.  Yet.  I’ll let you know if they do.

Merkin made an apple pie last night.  It’s been calling my name all day, but I’ve resisted its charms.  I would not have managed it if the pie had already been cut into, but it’s still pristine and whole and altogether too delicious-looking.  We’ll have some later tonight before BB goes to bed.

She’s only just now finished her homework.  Not that she had a ton of it.  She just takes forever to do it.  She is the queen of stalling, lollygagging, and diversions.  Sometimes I just want to strangle her.  Good thing she’s still cute.

I’m going to play bubble spinner now.  I’m addicted to that game.  Just ask my family.  I’m sure it drives them crazy.

 

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

2 responses to “‘Bout time for another post

  • bythelbs

    I’m not looking forward to future flights either. Good luck passing the scanner and avoiding the pat down!

    I’m basically done Christmas shopping for my kids. It’s everyone else I have no idea what to do with. Sigh.

    I hope you have a great trip!

  • madhousewife

    Good luck with the flight. Are the scans standard or random at Ontario? I think most of the airports that have the fancy scanners only do random scans and only use the pat-down as an alternative to the scan. I have a friend who didn’t get tapped for the scanner for one flight but did for her next. Hopefully you will not have to do any of those things. Have a good trip!

Leave a Reply

