Five Costumes I Didn’t Wear This Halloween

Before I take down Arthur’s Halloween sign, I thought I’d mention a few of my more creative costume ideas that I’ve never bothered to actually use.  A couple of them are costumes I would never wear, but there are one or two that would be fine — even easy — if I actually felt like going to the bother of planning ahead.  I guess I always figure BratzBasher’s costume is awesome enough that neither Merkin nor I need to bother dressing up, too.  This year, she was a soul reaper (from the anime Bleach), and she looked pretty dang good if I do say so myself.  Here’s the only photo I took of her this Halloween:

The pants were so wide that I could easily have adjusted them to fit Merkin.

 

Anyway…enough about actual costumes.  Let’s talk about costumes that never made it past the idea stage.

  1. A little, black rain cloud: Wear all black, and tie a helium-filled balloon around your waist.  If you want to give people a better hint, wear yellow bear ears.  If you’re feeling really ambitious, dress up like Winnie the Pooh, roll around in a mud puddle, and then tie the balloon around your waist.  A friend can dress as Christopher Robin, carrying an umbrella and saying, “Tut tut.  Looks like rain.”
  2. Grouchketeer: grubby, torn, green t-shirt with “GROUCHKETEER” written on it in black Sharpee.  Complete the ensemble with a trash can lid hat (can be made out of cardboard and tin foil).
  3. Tree of Life:  Believe it or not, this one actually came to me in a dream I had about attending our ward’s Halloween party (many years ago).  I was wearing my long-sleeved, dark brown, knit dress with a very elaborate hat/crown made of a wreath form and fake tree branches/foliage I got from Michael’s.  I’d even tied sandwich bags filled with pieces of divinity candy to the branches so that people could partake of the fruit.  Yeah.  That was one of my weirder dreams.  I told BB about it, and she recommended popcorn balls instead of divinity, but I wouldn’t want to be mistaken for an apricot tree.  She also said I should get Merkin to follow me around, holding a metal curtain rod.  That’s actually pretty funny.
  4. Price is Right contestant: All that this one requires is a Price is Right name tag.  You could also wear an “I love Bob Barker” t-shirt or carry a sign that says Hi, Mom!  Try to rearrange the candy in your neighbors’ bowls according to price while a friend times you.
  5. America’s Got Talent contestant: Any outrageous performance costume would work.  A group of friends can wear identical outfits and perform brief, cheesy, choreographed dance routines at various moments.

Feel free to borrow any of these ideas, but you must send me pictures.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

One response to “Five Costumes I Didn’t Wear This Halloween

Leave a Reply

