14 and Counting

In celebration of our 14th wedding anniversary, I’ve decided to post 14 things you may not know about Merkin and me.

  1. We met during Idaho State University’s homecoming weekend at Monte Carlo night.  He was the blackjack dealer.
  2. For our first date, he read me a bedtime story.  (In the study lounge, not my dorm.)
  3. When we were first dating, our favorite date was playing backgammon at the student union building.  We still have the set he taught me with.
  4. We were engaged for 3 1/2 years.  That’s very unusual in Mormon culture, but Merkin wanted to have a real job first.  I think it was a good decision for us.
  5. Merkin’s “real job” was a financial analyst position with the Covey Leadership Center (now Franklin-Covey), which meant that I had to transfer to BYU.
  6. My BYU experience was not exactly brochure quality.  For my last final exam before graduation, I wore a t-shirt with a big Y that had a screw in it.  (Of course, I covered it up with a flannel shirt so I wouldn’t get stoned by the zealots.)
  7. Our second apartment was located right above a “retired” Laotian gang leader’s residence.  He and Merkin got along pretty well, so our new friend put the word out that if anyone messed with us he’d take ’em out to Bonneville Flats, break both their legs, and leave ’em for dead.  Don’t think we didn’t appreciate that.
  8. We like to play a game I call “Thank you/You’re welcome”.  For example, if I see this, I say, “Thank you [for not owning a shirt like that],” and Merkin says, “You’re welcome.”
  9. I can never remember our anniversary.  Merkin always has to remind me.  He’ll do it subtly, though, by saying something like: “What do you want for our anniversary next Monday?” and we’ll both pretend I totally knew Monday is our anniversary.
  10. Merkin likes to own a beater truck and drive it aggressively.  He figures other drivers care what happens to their paint jobs more than he does.  Amazingly enough, he’s never been the one at fault for any of his accidents.
  11. He once purchased feminine products for me in an emergency.  Before we were married.  That’s when Mom said, “He’s a keeper.”
  12. He does 99.9% of the cooking in our house.
  13. When I had my mole removed (my first surgery ever), he sat next to me and fed me Andes mints during the whole procedure.  I couldn’t see what was going on, but he could and braved through the ordeal for my sake.
  14. We got married in the Los Angeles, CA temple, which just happens to be situated off of Route 66.  I have one of those signs hanging underneath our wedding picture in our living room.

Happy Anniversary, Merkin!

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

4 responses to “14 and Counting

  • madhousewife

    Happy anniversary, you crazy kids!

    This was fun to read. Some of these fun facts I didn’t know yet.

  • bythelbs

    I never tire of hearing how much people hate the Y. 😀

    Happy anniversary!

    • foo4luv

      The Y is great for some people. It just didn’t work very well for me. I think a big reason for that was the fact that I transferred from another university and had huge difficulties getting my credits properly assigned.

      The two other main factors were my mistake in taking a class from the Mormon equivalent of Monsieur Gaston (Eugene England’s love of self was almost as vomit-inducing as his adoring fans) and there was a definite attitude of other (not ALL, but a LOT of)students that I should be grateful beyond measure for the blessing of having been accepted to the one true university.

      I got along great with the students and professors who ignored the rameumptom and admitted they were regular people attending a regular university. I imagine I would’ve had problems at any other high-profile institution — regardless of religious/political affiliation.

      • bythelbs

        It’s definitely not for everyone. I actually respect your opinion since you have experience to base it on and thoughtful, valid reasons.

        I never had the pleasure of taking a class from Eugene England. Darn. Looks like I missed out. 😛

        #12 makes me jealous. So very jealous.

Leave a Reply

