Aargh!

My latest sewing project has been a new dress for BratzBasher.  The pattern is Vintage Vogue from 1957 and looks very classy — think June Cleaver.  It’ll look absolutely adorable when it’s finished, but for now I’ve hit a bit of a snag.  The bodice is too big.  I can solve this by trimming material off the shoulders, but that means I’ve got a major sleeve adjustment ahead of me.  I hate it when I have to significantly alter the pattern like that.  I’m always afraid I’m going to ruin it.  Keep your fingers crossed for me.  Figuratively, that is.  I don’t expect you to walk around with crossed fingers all day.  Here’s a pic of what the dress should look like (only with a higher neckline) and the material I’m using (available here):

In other news…Why do they say that, by the way?  It’s not like they’re transferring you to another news show when they use that segue.  Ahem.  Anyway — my little brother’s birthday is coming up on Thursday, and I have no idea what to give him.  I don’t really know my brother all that well.  We didn’t get along growing up, and he lives way out in Maryland now.  I get most of my news about him from other family members that he actually talks to.  Occasionally, he’ll respond to my weekly emails that I send out every Sunday (my way of avoiding actually calling my family on the phone).  Sisters who know him better than I, have you got any ideas for me?

The only thing I keep thinking of is something I’m actually saving to give his future wife when they have their first baby.  It’s a custom autographed copy of the Whipping Boy.  He originally received it years ago at an event for cancer/leukemia patients at the children’s hospital where he was being treated for leukemia when he was little.  I rescued it from a pile of stuff he’d put out for Goodwill, knowing he’d want it back someday.  I’m wondering if the fact that I keep thinking about it means I should go ahead and send it now.  What do you think?

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

One response to “Aargh!

  • bythelbs

    I have no ideas either. I don’t think any of us know him any better. Sorry.

    I wouldn’t send him the book yet. (That’s awesome that you saved it, btw.) I’d maybe wait and see if he gets a wife who will make sure he doesn’t just toss it back in the goodwill pile.

    Good luck with the dress. I love the material. It’s going to be fabulous.

Leave a Reply

