Happy Birthday to me!

Yesterday was my birthday, and a fine day it was.  I was showered with gifts, and Merkin prepared a feast in my honor.  Let me tell ya what I got.

I haven’t played Star Trek: Tactical Assault yet, but Exit DS is pretty fun.  You play a superhero/escape artist, Mr. Esc, who has to rescue people and pets from dangerous situations.  The situations are more puzzle than action, so it requires problem-solving skills.  BratzBasher just likes it when Mr. Esc falls too far and gets injured.  The screen shows him rolling on the floor, clutching his broken leg.

I requested this CD because I like the song “Fireflies”, and I have listened to the others on the disc and enjoyed them.  It’s not something you can listen to all the time, though, because a lot of the songs sound pretty much the same.  You’ve just got to be in the mood for some Owl City to listen to the whole thing.  I’ve put it on my list of happy music for when I’m feeling upbeat.  If you haven’t heard “Fireflies”, check it out below.

I also got a cool Pink Floyd baseball tee, a dozen yellow roses, two candy wrapper roses from BB, a box of Lindt truffles, and a paper clip necklace and bracelet (also from BB).

We had another family over for dinner and feasted on salmon, broccoli risotto, spinach salad, asparagus, and a giant loaf of my favorite bread baked fresh in Merkin’s ginormous dutch oven.  For dessert, we had I’m Sorry – You Were Right Chocolate Cake with blackberries, strawberries, and vanilla ice cream.  ISYWRCC has several different forms of chocolate in it, including bits of Scharffen-Berger’s 99% cacao bar.

Okay, you probably can’t see the part I’ve outlined in red, but it says, “May contain traces of sugar.”  Needless to say, it makes a chocolate cake all the more excellent.

In honor of my birthday (despite the fact that it’s over), I’m having the first-ever Bored Bunny contest!  Woo-hoo!  The rules are simple:

1. Post a link to the cutest bunny pic you can find, or email the pic to foo4luv@gmail.com

2. Whoever sends in the picture I like best will receive a fabulous prize in the mail.  Don’t ask what it is; I’m not telling.

3. There is also a second prize in this contest: first-time commenter.  To win this prize, you must comment on one of my posts for the very first time and include a link to a cute bunny pic.  Cutest bunny from a first-time commenter gets the prize.

4. If the absolute cutest bunny pic is from a first-time commenter, that person will receive BOTH prizes, so don’t think my family’s got it in the bag just because they’re the only three people who’ve already commented on my blog.

You may now embark upon your quest.  (Don’t forget: “fabulous prizes”)

WAIT-WAIT-WAIT!

I almost forgot — It’s Monday, which means it’s time for another Foo4’s Favs!

Today’s Fav is my sister Mad’s blog I am the giraffe.  Mad is sister #2.  Aside from her personal blog, she’s a regular contributor to By Common Consent.  Her posts range from quirky to hysterical to beautiful and, like lbs, show a brave willingness to be her true self.  (I’m still working on that part.)  Go ahead and give her a click.  You know you want to.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

3 responses to “Happy Birthday to me!

Leave a Reply

