Random Photos

I finally got pics of BratzBasher’s science project.  As long as I’m posting them, I thought I’d throw in some random pics that happened to be on the same disk.

Here’s BratzBasher’s award-winning project: Floor Wars (my idea — the name, that is).  I wanted her to use a font that looks like Star Wars, but she opted for something more original.  BB tested five types of flooring (bamboo, solid oak, engineered hickory, natural stone, and ceramic tile) to see which was the most durable.

Ceramic tile beat everything else hands down.  Engineered hickory did the best out of all the wood samples.

Here’s a close-up of her ribbons.  The fancy one is for placing first in the entire school.  Sort of like “Best in Show”.  BTW, Merkin thinks the “winner” stickers she placed on the best-performing samples had a subliminal influence on the judges.  What do you think?

Let’s see what else we’ve got…Oh, here’s documentation of the results of our family Risk tournament over Christmas break.  We have the Lord of the Rings version, but we play it like regular Risk.  Good thing, too, or Middle Earth would have been conquered by the forces of darkness.  This little yellow archer is me, and the black meanies are Merkin.

This next one will give you an even better idea of just how much trouble my poor Legolas is in.  Yeah, it wasn’t pretty.

Last summer I promised to make a dress for the daughter of a friend.  The daughter got to pick the material and pattern, and the mother approved of it.  Before the dress was finished, the friend decided (for reasons completely unknown to me, and she’s not talking) to cut off all ties with our family.  I decided to go ahead and finish the dress because I had made a promise, and it seemed unfair to the girl not to follow through.  I delivered the dress only to discover that the mother had withdrawn her approval of the material.  Well, if she’d actually returned my phone calls, I could have used something else.  Sigh.  Now I have a very cute size 16 (girls) dress that most mothers wouldn’t allow their daughter to wear because it just happens to be covered with little skulls.  Aw, come on, people!  Anybody want to help me find it a good home?

Here’s a close-up of the bodice.  See the cute little skull buttons at the waist?

Here are some neat pics Merkin took at the City Museum in September.  This first one was taken on the roof at night.  (Well, duh.  That’s why it’s so dark.)  Yes, that is a giant praying mantis.  Cool, huh?

Here’s BratzBasher with her best friend.  (BB is the one on the right.)

Here they are climbing up some…thing in Monstro City.

Here’s BratzBasher by herself.  I love the clouds in these pictures.

Well, that’s it.  Hope my slide show didn’t bore y’all too much.  I have to go help BratzBasher with her evil Social Studies homework.  No!  Not essay questions!  Aaaaaaaagh!

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

3 responses to “Random Photos

  • Rebecca J

    BB’s science project looks cool. Very clever of her to use those “Winner!” stickers as subliminal messages. 🙂

    Mary would L-O-V-E to have that dress with the skulls. I’m very sad that it (probably) wouldn’t fit her. Hey, could you make another one in a ladies’ 10/12? (Ha ha.)

  • bythelbs

    I think it’s funny that they give “participant” ribbons to projects that also placed. What is the point of that? But congrats to BB.

    I hope you find a good home for the dress—someone who appreciates the work that went into it.

Leave a Reply

