Home again, home again, jiggity-jig

BratzBasher and I made it back from Seattle in one piece. I’d show you pictures, but I forgot my camera. Maybe Madhousewife or Bythelbs will have some. Of course, I didn’t take pictures of the Foo4 family Christmas, either, and nobody else has pics of that. Whoops. What can I say? We were too busy enjoying ourselves.

The trip home was a little too eventful for my taste. Our plane at SEA had a cracked window (don’t ask me how that occurred), so the flight was delayed until they could switch us to a different plane. Then when we got to MSP, we had a bogus flight number from our bogus not-boarding passes that AlaskaAir.com gave us. That’s a whole ‘nother story in and of itself. Anyway, I finally found a travelers assistance desk and the wonderful lady there got me all sorted out. To make a long story short, we made our flight and got home. Without our one checked bag. Luckily, that was the bag with all of our dirty laundry in it. STL delivered it to our door this afternoon. Anyway, by the time BratzBasher and I got off the plane at STL, we were starving (no time for lunch, and only a couple pretzel packets on the planes), and I really had to go to the bathroom. Luckily, BratzBasher got a bathroom break while I was sorting out our second flight, so she wasn’t suffering like I was. Yeah, I know I could’ve used the one on the plane, but I decided I’d rather hold it for the hour and a half — if you know what I mean.  Merkin took us to IHOP before we headed home, and BB and I gorged on giant breakfasts.

BratzBasher is enjoying our new Wii.  She had to wait until we got home from Seattle to play on ours and create her Mii character. Last night she stayed up until 2:30 (AM!) playing various Wii Fit and sports games. Now she wonders why she’s sore. She did get to play on Bythelbs’ Wii. Btl’s kids got Dance Dance Revolution for Christmas, and BB had a lot of fun dancing with cousins. I want a copy of the video of Btl freestyling on the difficult level. Mad’s husband, Sugar Daddy, chose that level before anyone could stop him. He’s like that. Mad kept trying, but Btl got frustrated and just had fun. It was HI-larious. Totally awesome. So sorry I can’t post it here.

Our entire family was there in Seattle: all five kids and their families, plus Dad and Stepmom. Oh, and Little Brother’s girlfriend. We have no idea when he’ll get around to proposing to her, but we’re hopeful.

I think my favorite present may turn out to be the Wii Fit. I made my character today and started my fitness whatevertheycallit. I have a hard time with the soccer game because I can’t stop laughing about the fact that they’re throwing cleats and panda heads at me. Who are the crazy people that came up with that idea? Anyway, I’m enjoying the “exercise”. If I can stop eating Chex Mix, I might be able to lose those five pounds before my next appointment with my psychiatrist. I did tell y’all that he wants me down by five pounds, right? Not that anyone but the scale will be able to tell the difference.

I was going to take a picture of the second apron I made and the necklaces I did for my sisters, but I forgot, and now I no longer have them. Maybe the recipients can send me pictures. Or I suppose I could make more. Sell them on Etsy. Nah. I don’t have enough ambition for that. Speaking of those necklaces, I made them by supergluing together gears and keyholes from the Tim Holtz line (purchased at Michael’s). They turned out really cool. I need to make one for myself. Here’s a pic of what I used:

You can’t really tell in this picture, but the pieces come in goldtone, pewter, and copper. You can buy matching jewelry findings, chains, whatnot at just about any craft store. Next time, though, I’m definitely using rubber gloves. I did find a great way to remove superglue from my hands without acetone (which is the recommended way, but our nail polish remover is the non-acetone kind — aargh!). I scrubbed with a pumice stone and just removed the layer of skin the glue was attached to (which is not the recommended way, but my hands felt too weird not to do something).

While in Seattle, BratzBasher also got a makeover from Eldest Sister. This included a new haircut, and a shopping trip to discuss good wardrobe choices. I think BB felt more than a little overwhelmed.  She did love the haircut, though, until she realized that the pile on the floor that looked rather like a small lapdog actually came from her head. ES had to thin BB’s hair because it’s so thick that it hides her face. BB hates having thinner hair — even though a few minutes with the flat iron makes it look awesome. She has such a pretty face, I was so happy to see it! She is wearing the clothes we bought for her, but still prefers oversized, men’s shirts. She thinks it’s easier to hide in them, I think. We tried to point out that it’s a lot easier to hide when you blend in with everyone else, and that you don’t have to dress exactly like others to blend in.  It’s like camouflage.  I’m still working on it, but I think she’s coming around.  I’ve stressed that it’s still perfectly fine to wear whatever the heck she wants at home. I’m certainly not complaining. I just want to see her face.

I took notes for myself during the wardrobe choice lecture. I learned a few things. Of course, I do have a few men’s shirts, but they’re not oversized.  I just wanted those pretty colors. Why do the men get such pretty colors and the women don’t? Equality of selection! That’s what I want!

I like all of the long-sleeved shirts Merkin got me for Christmas. They’re even the right size! Yes, my husband is awesome.  Thank you.

Okay, it’s midnight now.  If I ever hope to get back to Central Standard Time, I’d better get some sleep.

The absolute best best BEST part of this year’s Christmas: I did not hear “Little Drummer Boy” even once.  So happy.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

2 responses to “Home again, home again, jiggity-jig

  • Rebecca J

    I did not hear LDB before Christmas, but I’ve heard it several times afterward. What’s up with that?

    BTL freestyling DDR was a classic moment in family history. It will live forever.

  • bythelbs

    I have video. May consider accepting bribes.

    Sorry your trip home was so eventful.

    I think you’re right about the hiding thing. I felt like BB was trying to melt into the walls! We’d like to see more of her! The girls did have fun playing LPS and Lego Rock Band.

Leave a Reply

