I told you so.

I got a call around 9:30 this morning.  It was the school nurse.  Apparently, BratzBasher was sick and throwing up, and could I come get her?  She threw up again before I arrived.  BratzBasher, that is, not the school nurse.  Though I wouldn’t fault anyone for throwing up while in the presence of vomit.

BratzBasher told me that she had started feeling queasy on the bus ride to school.  She told her teacher as soon as she got to the classroom, and the teacher told her to sit down and start her morning assignment.  BratzBasher sat down and then threw up.

Teacher: BratzBasher!  You’re supposed to grab a trashcan and go if you’re going to throw up!

BB: But you told me to sit down. [translation: I told you so.]

So I brought BratzBasher home.  The nurse sent us home with a plastic bag “just in case”, and I remember thinking, “Does it have holes in the bottom?” but then I thought, “Of course not.  What nurse in her right mind would hand us a leaky barf bag?  I know the answer to that question now because when BB felt her stomach heave again, she noticed the bag actually did have holes in it.  Luckily, she noticed before she puked, so I could pull over to the side of the road.  My apologies to whoever’s lawn that was, but it’s a relatively new subdivision and probably hasn’t even been purchased yet.

BratzBasher is, of course, humiliated that she threw up in front of all the kids.  I told her they’d probably forget all about it by Monday.  Merkin’s advice: If anyone mentions it, just roll your eyes and say, “Like you’ve never done that.”

The good news is that BratzBasher is now fine.  It’s amazing what a three-hour nap, crackers, and Batman cartoons will do.  Meanwhile, I’ve had to postpone working on her Christmas PJ’s until she’s back in school on Monday.  Plenty of other stuff to do in the meantime.

I took a break from cleaning today to do a little crafting.  I can’t say what because it’ll probably wind up being gifted to a couple readers of this blog, but there was super glue involved.  My fingers aren’t stuck together, but a couple of them do have funky, smooth spots on them.  I also lost a tiny chunk out of the (cheap) vinyl cloth that covers the pad on our dining room table.  Whoops.  Duct tape, please!  Next time, I really should remember to use rubber gloves.  the projects are looking very cute, though.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

2 responses to “I told you so.

  • madhousewife

    It is humiliating to throw up in front of others. I was lucky enough to do it in front of complete strangers (at Magic Mountain) instead of people I’d ever see again (except for my husband). Princess Zurg threw up at school once, though, and one kid in her class kept saying for the rest of the year, “Remember that time you threw up in class, PZ?” But don’t tell BB that!

  • bythelbs

    I threw up in 1st grade. I have no recollection of anyone saying anything about it. Mr. T threw up in 3rd grade in front of the whole class. His name had just been drawn to be class president for the week. A good way to start his term of office.

    I actually had a dream last night that I accidentally used super glue instead of chapstick. I woke up just as the panic set in.

Leave a Reply

