On the way home from torture – er, I mean, exercise group

I give myself a pat on the back for making it to exercise group today.  I arrived late, but I did stay for the whole time.  Once I’ve learned to actually show up to every session, I can work on being on time.  Anyway…

Before the soreness really settles in, I thought I’d share this song I heard on the radio while I was driving home.  One of my presets (button 6) is Lindenwood University’s radio station.  There’s no commercials (well, except for the ones that tell you they have no commercials), no pledge drives, and they even throw in the occasional news break.  They often play songs you don’t hear on the other radio stations, too.  When Merkin first heard me listening to it, he thought it was a Christian radio station.  I couldn’t figure out what he was talking about until I realized he thought they were calling it “The Word” instead of “The Wood” (you know, as in Lindenwood).  Once I cleared that up, he stopped worrying about me.

So this song I heard is “Hey Girl” by Garrison Starr.  I’m putting the lyrics underneath the video because it’s an amateur recording of a live performance, and you can’t hear all the words clearly.

What makes you think

you gotta hold the world on your shoulders

and handle that load?

Who gave you

the fine tooth comb

to judge your every move

before you’ve even started to make one?


Hey girl

It’s a beautiful day

for flying.

Don’t you wanna open your eyes?

You’re dying.


Subtle was the way

the clouds rolled in on you

to fog up your windows and darken your view.

An unforgiving face

who dared you to escape,

living for the chance to scare you back in place.


Hey, girl

it’s a beautiful day

for flying.

Don’t you wanna open your eyes?

Hey, girl

it’s a beautiful day

for flying.

Don’t you wanna open your eyes?

You’re dying.


It’s no way to live so safe

all wrapped up in my fears

’til I just suffocate.

I will get through

if it’s the last thing I do.


I’ll have Halloween pictures before the week is out.  No, really.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

One response to “On the way home from torture – er, I mean, exercise group

Leave a Reply

