Only 9 more sewing days left!

Actually, I have less time than that to finish BratzBasher’s costume because she’s going out of town with Merkin to visit Idiot #2.  (That’s his oldest younger brother.  Merkin’s mom refers to them all by their idiot number when she’s mad at them.  Merkin is Idiot #1 — not because he’s the biggest idiot, but because he’s the oldest.)  Idiot #2 is a mechanical engineer who builds and tests gigantoid mining trucks.  He’s promised to let Merkin and BB drive one themselves.  Now, when I say “gigantoid”, I mean that Idiot # 2 (at 6’6″) has to duck just a wee bit to stand under the company’s smallest model.  They’ve got what they call their “giant sandbox” where they test their monstrocities to see if they can break them.  Idiot #2 says he loves it when he manages to pop a wheelie.  Yikes.  I don’t think BB will be driving fast enough for that.  She’s a little bummed that she won’t get to drive over any average-sized vehicles and crush them, though.

Anyway…they’ll be gone Halloween weekend, so I have to finish her costume before then.  I’m aiming for this weekend.  She’s going to be some sort of Japanese samurai/ninja lady, wearing a kimono with daggers and ninja stars tucked into her obi (that’s Japanese for “kimono belt”, but I’m sure you knew that already).  We discussed the sword possibility, but decided against it.  It’s a very simple costume, actually.  The hardest part is figuring out what to do with her hair.  I’m not going to be there to do it, and I don’t really want to rely on Idiot #2’s wife to help out because…well, she’s a total whackjob.  In fact, Merkin has reserved a hotel room so they don’t have to stay in the same house with her.  In the past, she’s been extremely nice to Linda.  I suspect it’s because she’s always wanted a girl.  However, we haven’t had any interaction with her in years, and I’m not counting those eggs until they’re good and hatched.  So we need a hairstyle that fits into one of two categories: 1) a 10-year-old girl can do it herself, or 2) a 39-year-old male can be taught to do it.  We’re working on the first.  I don’t think BB’s hair is long enough yet to twist it up into chopsticks, but that’s too complicated for either of them anyway.

I’m sure there’s loads of people out there who can’t understand why I don’t just insist BB go trick-or-treating as a bag lady every year (a costume which, incidentally, works way better if you can get your hands on a shopping cart), but I don’t bake fresh bread or scrapbook or any of those Supermom activities that you read about in Family Fun magazine.  The annual Halloween costume (and sometimes the Easter dress) is my Supermom thing.  Sometimes it’s super easy, like when she decided to go as Nancy Drewand I didn’t have to sew anything.  nancy drew

Sometimes it’s what-the-heck-was-I-thinking, like last year when she wanted to be Heihachi from Samurai 7.

heihachi

At least I’m not making costumes for her Curious George anymore.  Her first Halloween costume (at age 2) was Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz.  She loved that movie.  Watched it all the time.  We soon knew all the words to every song by heart and could recite entire scenes word for word.  I found a pair of ruby slippers at the thrift store, and BB wouldn’t wear anything but her “Doh-tee shoes”.  I think she went through four pairs before she was done with that obsession.  We still have her first pair, though.  I wasn’t sure I could successfully sew a Dorothy dress without a pattern, but I had the idea that I could just add the gingham parts to a white t-shirt and put elastic in the sleeves.  It turned out great, but I couldn’t find a Toto dog anywhere.  Halloween night, Merkin suggested we put wings on Curious George (BB never went anywhere without him) and call him a flying monkey.  The next year, BB wanted to be Buttercup from the Powerpuff Girls, so George had to be Mojo Jojo.  Buttercup&Mojo Jojo

I think George’s last Halloween was three years ago when he played Tonto to BB’s Lone Ranger.

The funnest part of BB’s homemade costumes is seeing who, if anyone, can identify what she’s supposed to be.  The adults all got the Lone Ranger and Nancy Drew costumes while the kids didn’t, but nobody got Heihachi.  This year, she won’t be any particular character, so I don’t think people will be too confused.

I’m off to sew now.  Actually, I’m still working on cutting out all the pieces.  Kimonos are big.

About foo4luv

I'm a married, bum-around-the-house mom with one child, BratzBasher, who is the only thing in the universe cuter than a bunny nose. I enjoy reading, crafts, sewing unusual Halloween costumes, and taking long walks through Jo-Ann. View all posts by foo4luv

4 responses to “Only 9 more sewing days left!

  • bythelbs

    Halloween totally snuck up on me this year. Actually, it didn’t sneak up on me, I totally saw it coming but have been in complete denial. Luckily, BigHugs wants to be a cat (a costume we already have), DynaGirl’s going to be cat in the hat (I have the hat and figure I can fake the rest without too much trouble), and Goose has given up her dreams of Hobo Sleeping Beauty and decided to be a cheerleader (another one I can pretty much fake with what we’ve got). Maybe next year I’ll be a little more ambitious.

    Can’t wait to see pics of BB. I think you should put her hair in 3 ponytails: one on each side and one right on top.

  • madhousewife

    Y’all are very good about Halloween costumes. I make my husband handle all of that stuff. I don’t think I’ve ever sewed anything. Of course, I don’t even own a sewing machine.

  • merkin4

    Funny how I’m trusted to haul the firstborn halfway across the continent and put her behind the wheel of a vehicle larger than most houses, but I’m incapable of a hairstyle….

    Oh, well.

  • bythelbs

    Totally different skill set, dude. Totally.

Leave a Reply

